Paragon Adaptive Restore on UEFI: few keys work

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Mac29, Nov 9, 2019.

  1. Mac29

    Mac29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    FL
    I'm trying to use Adaptive Restore to 'adapt' my OS to a new Ryzen system. Some recent posts say this can work w/W10. But after changing boot order in Asus Bios I get the Paragon software, but only a few keys work.

    No mouse. Tried all usb ports, went into Safe Mode. Only PS/2 keyboard 'works' but I can't press enter to advance. Is there a way to get PS/2 keyboard to function?

    Figure I have a 50/50 shot at Adaptive Restore on UEFI. Want to keep this HDD all UEFI (and switch to SSD in 3 weeks) but I don't believe this has to do w/boot files. Wondering if there is some Bios setting I need to find in order to get a keyboard working.

    Appreciate any advice.


    Thanks,

    Mac
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,357
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mac,

    Is this what you are doing? Taken a Win10 HD from an Intel system and trying to get it to boot the OS in a Ryzen system?
     
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,715
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    I gave up on Paragon a decade ago or longer. Their GUIs were the worst.

    Don't some free imaging programs (maybe Macrium Reflect, EaseUs Todo or AOMEI Backupper) have a restore to different hardware function?
     
  4. Mac29

    Mac29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    FL
    Brian K.: Nope, it's from my old phenom system (W10 on a HDD) to a new Ryzen system. I believe Macrium has the ability in their paid version. Haven't heard that EaseUs Todo and AOMEI can do that.

    Just find it interesting, if it works. Worked on my W7 Pro. Easy, flawless. But I've heard conflicting reports about on W10, probably due to UEFI. If I can figure out how to make the Enter key work I may be able to give this a shot. Otherwise I'll buy an OEM license.

    Don't understand how some keys work but not any Enter key. Figure this must happen in other software. Only thing I haven't tried is the F keys. If I can't figure out how to use Enter, and it's not something in the bios I'll hang it up.

    Thanks for the interest.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,357
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mac, for what it's worth, does Win10 boot if you do nothing? It usually does when transferring HDs in Intel systems.
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,017
    it never was wise to copy a working system to a different hardware. even universal restore from acronis failed. best ever is a clean install.
     
  7. Mac29

    Mac29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    FL
    @Brian K.: Yes it will boot but I will need to re-do drivers and reauthenticate. I think the reauthenticate would fail. As well, as soon as I connect to internet I'm thinking w/o that authentication I stand to have problems down the road. Don't know that MS checks authentication every time it updates but I might need different updates for Ryzen to run best.

    @Brummelchen: Yeah no trust in Acronis for me. I'd use their transfer appl that's bundled w/a new drive but that's it. I'll research keys a bit longer, then probably give in. Intellectual experiment. The $50 for full Macrium would be better spent on Office, etc. At least for me.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,560
    There is a misconception about restoring to a different computer. If it works it means you can boot, but no way will you have a fully functioning system. You will still have work in terms of installing proper drivers for the new computer. I'd agree it's easier to start with the new computer and reinstall software, and then copy data.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.