Panda Platinum Internet Security 2006

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DON23, Sep 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DON23

    DON23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    ATLANTIS
    Hi,

    any feedback onPanda Platinum Internet Security 2006?

    Heard about panda good & bad comments but didnt have the chance to check it out.

    Thanks
     
  2. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I'm currently running Panda Titanium 2006, with antispyware and firewall. It isn't the Panda IS package. The firewall seems to be some variation of Sygate and the antispyware works very well from what I've seen.

    I like Panda, a lot. The Titanium version isn't a very big resource hit on my computer, 1.3G AMD Duron, 512 RAM, and I have no complaints. I like it enough that I think I'll buy it, and that's saying a lot. Most, I get rid of after a week to a month.

    I don't go to warez, porn, or gaming sites, where I know you're fairly sure to pick up bad guys, but I'm confident Panda would handle them. Also, since I've had it installed, it's updated the antivirus and antispyware not less than 3 times every day.
     
  3. DON23

    DON23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    ATLANTIS
    Read on several forums that panda improved since IS 2005, regardin impact on system.

    Also, from their webpage i tried to distinguish between platinum and titanium, but without much luck

    What's the catch?
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    panda IS included additional features like privacy control, antispam filters, and parental control. and its also more configurable or has more options.
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Is the upgrade from Panda Titanium/Platinum 2005 to version 2006 free? :)
     
  6. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    No, Panda only upgrades you to the new version if you purchased it within 90 days of the release. They don't have a policy similar to NOD or KAV where new versions are free within the license period.
     
  7. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    I've gotten all new releases for free - If they release 2006, I get 2005 for free.
    Usually 2-3 months after the release of the new software.
     
  8. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    I've tried Panda IS2006 yesterday ... for about 15 minutes. :p
    Huge resource hog. Endless startup...loooooooooooong shutdown. o_O
    Not for me. :'(
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    15 Minutes is hardly conclusive. The exact same thing has been reported by KAV users and surprise, it settles down after awhile to a relatively low amount of resource usage or so they say. Next time you trial software give it at least a full day.
     
  10. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224

    I used to be a Panda customer (Platinum 6 and 7) when 7 was released I had to pay to upgrade to it, granted they gave a 40% discount but they are overpriced to begin with. Totalling up all the money I spent on buying Panda for two systems through a year and half and comparing it what I have spent on NOD, on those same two systems, for 2 1/2 years and Nod is quite a bit cheaper, just over HALF what I spent on Panda, and have a year longer service as well.

    Back to the OP's OT, Panda is quite a memory hog the IS suite runs about 8 or so services that can consume up to a 100MB of ram with certain settings.
     
  11. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Hi Chuck57. I have question for you. Did Pana include a scheduled scan feature in their Titanium 2006? I tried Titanium 2005 when it first came out. I liked it, but it didn't have a scheduled scan feature. I want that feature in my AV, so didn't purchase it.
     
  12. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    It mentions scheduled scan in the index, but I've yet to be able to find it. After reading your post, I went to Panda and looked for it again, and still can't find it. The index only mentioned it and described it, didn't say where to find it. At this point, I'd say there isn't any way to set up a scheduled scan.

    That doesn't concern me since I usually run a scan on my own every couple of days anyway, although I don't know why they mention it but don't include that feature.
     
  13. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    I've trialed A LOT of security software and I am an experienced user.
    Belive me (or try it yourself)- Panda IS 2006 is a huge resource hog.
    Do you think it has Kaspersky's technologies for optimise scaning and after a while it will be better ? I don't think so.
    By comparasion NIS 2006 is a little baby in killing your computer.
     
  14. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Graystoke, there should be a way to schedule this task with Windows, if not by Panda on its own: in sheduled tasks, you define the time of the task, you have to find the .exe for the scan, and add "+A" to the path, that should set an automatic scan.

    And yes, they're putting up smokescreen, since they have included a firewall in Titanium; people who want a security suite will choose Platinium anyway, but the Av comes with a fw too :doubt: . Not sure if the idea is good, but the fw can be excluded during the set up, for people who prefer to use another one; especially when the fw in Titanium is poor about settings ( the one in the 2005 release was ), better to use another one; or choose Platinium :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2005
  15. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    can you customize the installation of panda internet security as well?
     
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I'm just testing Panda Titanium 2006. I can confirm a bit longer startup/shutdown delay (my PC isn't that weak) and memory footprint at startup is enormous. But apart from startup/shutdown delay,memory usage decreases significantly over time to a very usable level. Scan speed was incredible for On-Demand (even with archives enabled) and On-Access scan doesn't really create any noticeable drag on system.

    I'm also wondering how can you exclude some folder from On-Access scans and what Internet Protection level control does (exactly,coz i really don't have a clue and help file just opens some spanish page that i don't understand)
     
  17. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    You mean to choose among components ? I don't know; could say I guess, but as I didn't try Platinium... Maybe someone else here will tell :)
     
  18. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    You could try checking support at their English language site. http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan.htm
     
  19. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    was quite the same when i did try titanium 2005, that's the reason why I want to try the 2006: sounds bad; but maybe it would be different if Panda was installed on a fresh formatted/reinstalled computer o_O .

    Hey, seems they provide some funny help file ;) . The only thing their internet protection control did, when I was trying titanium 2005, was to interfere with my firewall. I think this stuff shouldn't be installed at all. it's doing almost the same than the Platinium firewall now ( Detection of intruders in Wi-Fi networks, Protection against online fraud - antiphishing and dialers were added ). But seems there are less settings available than in the Platinium firewall ( I repeat, only did try 2005 yet. The only option was ...to enable or disable the firewall, in this release :blink: ), according to their site.
     
  20. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    oops, think my memory was wrong: did try to run the titanium 2005 set-up file, just to check that point, and no trace of any custom install there. Obviously, I may have disabled it once installed when I ran the trial before - yes, there's still a way to turn it off, inside Titanium, and by removing it from start-up, but no option to deselect it during installation.

    That's a kind of flaw, for this AV: if they include a firewall coming with, there should at least be a way to choose it or not during the set-up, because the fact to disable it once installed is only a fix indeed. It could even be that people who have already chosen another firewall might consider another AV just for that point, as that doesn't show a smart design; think I'll mail them about it, to see what is their reply about it.

    I didn't try 2006 yet, so I don't know if the same goes for this one :)
     
  21. Ahebah

    Ahebah Guest

    I have been using Panda Platinum software for 2 and a half years now. I was quite happy with the anti-virus software for the first 2 years. Then I was offered to switch to PIS2005. Since this has been installed I have had several problems. Windows update no longer seems to work. After not receiving any updates for at least 3 months I found it was time to make sure I did get them. As the problems started around end of March 2005 I did know for sure that PIS2005 was the cause as I have installed it on 2005/03/19.

    Problems noted with Panda Internet Security 2005 :
    - Windows update would not function properly
    - It keeps on removing certain spyware from my system while I have clearly indicated that certain files in certain folders should be excluded from the scan. I don't know if I have to indicate this in x numbers of windows, like separately for on demand scans, real time continuous scan, etc...
    - Sometimes it goes into an error mode, disabeling anti-virus, truprevent and the firewall. The only solution seems to be to reboot the PC.
    - As has been indicated before : starting up and shutting down takes ages... You can not only drink coffee, you'll be able to make fresh coffee before you drink it. However, I do not regard this as very disturbing (PC : P4 Northwood, 2.6Ghz, 512 MB RAM, slow hard drive (laptop, 2.5yo)).
    - The most IMPORTANT PROBLEM however is that it seems to be very, very difficult to get PIS2005 uninstalled from your PC. Try to uninstall and there will be bits and pieces left everywhere. Then try to access the internet with Panda uninstalled and you'll find it is no longer possible. Panda is adding a dll to the winsock services and I guess this is causing the problem. When uninstalled this dll stays on your PC and block internet access. I find this problem totally unacceptable. When I want to uninstall a program, for which I have paid a reasonable sum of money, then it should be uninstalled completely and without problems. Anything less can not be accepted. Therefore I have not yet decided what to do. Stick with Panda or remove it from the PC (it is possible off course). Making uninstall impossible seems to be a good way of customer binding. Many people will continue to use it for this reason. FYI : the uninstall was delivered by Panda software... Have a look at this document for more info about uninstall of PIS2005 :
    http://www.pandasoftware.co.uk/psuk/2304-faq-platinum2005.htm

    Ok, this post is not about PIS2006, but beware, I think that uninstall of PIS2006 will be just as difficult as for PIS2005.

    Some good points : good virusscanner, decent firewall, truprevent does what it is supposed to do, easy interface and install.
     
  22. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Well, Panda Titanium 2006 package advises you about Windows updates and will send you to the Microsoft site if you want. Also, the uninstall on the Titanium package works without a hitch. I use Regseeker and ccleaner for the usual leftovers that all software leaves behind.

    So far, in the month and a half I've had Panda on my system, I'm very happy with all aspects of it. I have no complaints. The antispyware package that comes with Titanium also seems to do a much better job than MS Antispyware, which never seemed to find anything on my system while I had it. This one does find stuff and remove it.

    The firewall passes grc, pcflank, and the 3 other sites I use. I don't know about leaktests since I don't pay much attention to them. I guess it would do about as well as Sygate free since I think that's what this firewall is.

    All in all, I'd give Panda Titanium an 8.5 out of 10. Nothing is perfect. I like it and I'm keeping it for the next year.
     
  23. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    all of panda products have sucked the juice's out my pc its little head even shows on reboot :ninja:
     
  24. woobook

    woobook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    I think clean the regedit is necessary before install Panda, .
    My computer is 224Ram. Now I am using Panda Titanium 2005 for a try, it is very smooth.
    NIS 2005 is also smooth in my computer. I had never used them before September because I learned they are very heavy. But I could not resist them.
    I never use two antivirus and I like use a suit to avoid crash.

    I have tried some suits this year, finally I decide to choose one from norton and panda. Panda titanium is mort light in my computer. I have not idea which one I shall buy.
     
  25. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    at least, we can make a custom install with Titanium 2006, but it's still heavy on the system :doubt: , and startup is very sloooow...
    I think something went wrong on my system, because the WEBPROXY was preventing any internet access (thought that was a bad nod32 lsp uninstall, but no), and you can't interact with its settings :mad: .


    About the uninstall: did work nicely for me.

    nice product, but that won't be mine.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.