Panda Free Antivirus 18.0 Free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by BMW325I, Nov 11, 2016.

  1. BMW325I

    BMW325I Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Sacramento California
    Anyone gunna try it?
     
  2. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    719
    Just tried it and as far as I can tell, Panda 18.0 Free is lighter and the new UI looks better than the previous version.
     
  3. BMW325I

    BMW325I Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Sacramento California
    Thats what i was looking for is a light av,thank you
     
  4. BMW325I

    BMW325I Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Sacramento California
    How is it detection wise?
     
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,015
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    If I start refurbing dozes laptops again I'd use it as before.
     
  6. yigido

    yigido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Panda Free Antivirus 18.0 Released

    Source: https://www.neowin.net/news/panda-f...designed-ui-better-protection-and-performance

    What's new in this version:
    • New UI completely redesigned. (see: https://vgy.me/PSoe9U.jpg)
    • Improved subscription and device management integrated in the product. Users can manage their subscriptions and their anti-theft protection (My Devices area) from their products.
    • Fully compatible with the new Windows 10 Anniversary Update.
    • Engine improvements for better protection and performance.
    • Other improvements requested by Panda Community.
    Note: The setup tries to install Panda Safe Web, and set Yahoo as default home page and default search, unselect if not needed.
     
  7. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    Wow, a new GUI with every version but still the old bugs. Panda goes Bitdefender ...
     
  8. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Belgium
    @Impet have you installed and tested the new panda already o_O

    btw, I'm using Bitdefender free edition beta and till now no bugs found ;)
     
  9. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    Not yet but I haven't found any bug fixes in the changelog.
     
  10. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Is panda new version lighter than avast?
     
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I think so.
     
  12. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I wonder, if they fixed WiFi's disconnect problem? I hated, when my mom called me every 10 mins, that there is no internet. Since then, I avoid cloud AVs. :isay:
     
  13. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Belgium
    I think cloud will come more and more, Many AV vendors uses the cloud : Avira, Avast, BitDefender, Panda, Sophos Home ... etc
     
  14. yigido

    yigido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Don't forget Comodo Cloud AV ;)
     
  15. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Well cloud function can be easily disabled in AVs, which support it, but not in purely cloud AVs.
     
  16. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    504
    I would add that this version requires net framework 4.
     
  17. BMW325I

    BMW325I Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Sacramento California
    crictical scan mode is one of the fastest ive seen in any antivirus,panda free 18 is so light this time around also
     
  18. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    It seems that it's still impossible to auto-upgrade via Panda interface, so I used the offline installer which had to uninstall the old version first. Furthermore it doesn't accept my Panda Pro licence but I can buy a new licence for € 2,99 / month - the whole upgrade process with Panda is really outdated and I really hate it even if the program itself is very light.

    Edit: It seems that there is a problem with my licence now because it has been activated too often, Panda calls it piracy control. So now I have to conact customer support and then have to wait for usually 1 week to get an answer, very nice.
     
  19. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    565
    One of my friend's PC was still running 16.0.1, even though 17.0 and 18.0 are now released...

    Changed it to BitDefender Free because of that.
     
  20. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    ... but we got a new GUI, that's really important.

    Edit: My wife is running 16.0.1 on her PC as well, autoupgrade didn't work at all.

    Is this bug fixed? I guess the answer is "no".
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2016
  21. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Belgium
    It was always a problem with Panda to auto-update to a new version, if you didn't download the installer by yourself and installed it you stick with the old version ....
     
  22. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    787
    I tried out this version on one of my Win 10 machines the other day. It seemed very lite and used less RAM and CPU than Bitdefender Free. Detection was excellent as well. However, after a day or so I started having wifi connection problems and went back to Bitdefender Free.
     
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, it stands a good chance it isn't fixed lol.
     
  24. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    461
    I wonder if that's limited to wifi only, or a network connection in general. I'd consider trying this out, and my desktop is a wired connection.
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It seems to affect certain set-ups and not others. I've never had a problem connecting to WiFi. I have no idea why this happens, apparently neither do Panda.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.