Panda Cloud AV feature suggestion

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by general_zerohour, Nov 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Will there be a firewall feature in it's future?
     
  2. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Not likely. A firewall is included with Panda A/V Pro which also uses the cloud technology. They want to keep Panda Cloud lean and mean.
     
  3. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    It also needs:

    Considering the current issues this app has with false positives, the lack of a user intervention to allow or ignore alerts is a glaring oversight. Right now you get a popup like "threat deleted" and then you stop what you're doing to open the PCAV recycle bin to see what the heck is going on and then hope their recovery works.

    And an "allow or later" user intervention for the download and psanhost service start/stop that happens at random, mostly daily, intervals when Panda pushes their latest 25-30MB signature set.

    Options to toggle both of these automatic and transparent activities would be welcome.

    Granted, Panda wants to isolate the average user/customer from all that nasty computer stuff and they've done a great job at it. But an expert mode is sorely needed for users who don't want to be isolated from all that nasty computer stuff. They can leave all that out of the free version, of course, thus making another market point for purchasing the full app.
     
  4. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    I doubt it.
    A firewall would add even more to its now-no-longer-lean localized feature set. I've just replaced the last PCA Free with a paid-for copy of avast! on a not-for-profit owned machine due to my inability to sufficiently curb its random grabs for system resources.
     
  5. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I thought Avast was only allowed for personal use, well I thought it was at one point that may have changed since the last time I checked.
     
  6. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    At the risk of restating the obvious (sorry Ibrad), avast! Free is allowed for personal use only, whereas "paid-for" avast! is not sublect to this limitation. ;)
     
  7. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Oh, sorry I misread your post I thought you said the free version.
     
  8. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning ! Having just removed Panda Cloud Pro...Even if you unclick the acceptance boxes for the Yahoo...Panda Toolbar...it still installs itself. Very annoying...this is reverse marketing at it's lowest level...this should be removed completely in the next version. Sincerely...Securon
     
  9. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I agree it's annoying but it can easily be removed in the add/remove programs area. I removed both but left the URL filtering.
     
  10. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    It should not be installing if you un-check it, though I have not had a chance to test that yet I will look into it.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Has the Quarantine been fixed?

    TH
     
  12. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Yes with the new build everything is quarantined in a separate folder. Seems logical to me...:eek: :D
     
  13. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Password / UAC protected settings is the most needed feature imo. That would ensure nobody tampers with your security.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.