Panda Cloud Antivirus 1.5 final release

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by pbust, Jun 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 22ndcitysaint

    22ndcitysaint Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    PH
    C:\ProgramData
     
  2. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    C:/Program Data/Panda Security
    Vista Premium x32 here
     
  3. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    Thanks!
     
  4. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I don't know if it's fixed or not,but i can say that last night Panda asked me to reboot after an update and the "guilty" file doesn't appear anymore after i deleted it yesterday morning.
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I swear all products install and start out good but then go downhill on effecting the performance of my computer. All but this one thank goodness.
     
  6. progress

    progress Guest

    trjam is back to PCAV :thumb: I think PCAV is the best product of Panda :)
     
  7. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    572
    Location:
    Moon
    Yes it is :thumb:
     
  8. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,350
    Although I do not use Panda Cloud at the time, I have no doubt that he is the best product from Panda. And I hope you get right version 1.9 which comes with several improvements and new features.
     
  9. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    My sister had 1.5pro Facebook promo installed (installed 4 weeks ago.)

    Yesterday it just wouldn't scan. Click on scan, the screen would come up but it wouldn't run. The was no pop-up. We had internet connection. She uninstalled it so I cannot give further info.

    What might the problem have been?
     
  10. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    I do know that if you close the UI before the scan window appears it won't start scanning.
     
  11. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    TRJAM's back - but for how long?.....:eek:
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  12. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    This morning Tiny Watcher alerted me about a new file named 0x0304A000.sfl being created in the root of C:
    See picture attached:
    pcav0x0304A000.jpg
    I did not install any new software nor got infected by any kind of malware, so I'm assuming it belongs to PCAV given the fact I'm not the only one.
    What shall I do with it?
     
  13. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    It's a bug. We're aware of the issue and working on a fix. Those files are harmless, auxiliary files which should normally be created only inside PCAV directories. They can be safely deleted until we release the fix.
     
  14. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Ok, I'll go ahead and delete it. Thank you very much!
     
  15. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    But Panda Cloud cannot neutralize many threats. This is the reason I dont use it, otherwise its a good product. It recommends to check online neutralizing many threats which I found quite uncomfortable for average/novices.
     
  16. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    We have detected a few bugs in the neutralization processes in the versions 1.0 through 1.4. Some have been fixed in 1.5.0 and 1.5.1. Some will fixed in a future upgrade to 1.5.1, some have been fixed in the 1.9.x beta and most if not all of the remaining ones will be fixed by the time 2.0 is released.
     
  17. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Thanxx for the info. Good to know all the bugs related to neutralize will be fixed in version 2.
     
  18. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Is the disinfection/cleaning or in Panda's case neutralizing threats cloud based or local or both?
     
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA

    thanks for the info Pedro.;)
     
  20. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    As far as I know, it is only local.
     
  21. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Thats good. Cleaning should completely be local only.
     
  22. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    I've been rewatching some YouTube videos of 1.5.1
    The low RAM and CPU usages are quite appealing; but, considering it's a cloud based product, so it connects frequently, aren't there browsing slowdowns?
    Is there someone here using Panda that migrated from Avast free (what I'm using now) and can give me an insight?

    Regards.
     
  23. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    I went from Avast! to Panda and haven't noticed any difference in performance or browsing speed, but my PC is really powerful, and I have 12Mbps Internet.
     
  24. carat

    carat Guest

    ... or maybe a cheap 3-years key? :doubt:
     
  25. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    EU
    I also changed from avast free to PCAV free and I'm satisfied. I also have a 50Mbps connection but according to Panda also a dial-up connection will be ok.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.