Panda Cloud Antivirus 1.5 final release

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by pbust, Jun 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    given the fact that scientists yesterday claimed to have found an ideal earth like planet ....so aliens are gonna invade and speed up the end.....and also panda spends so much time in beta phase.....need a loud bang to awake panda.....so it better be good and all worth waiting....full of new features....
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    But that on the other hand is a good thing :thumb:

    And btw since you live in the "Parallel Universe" I don't think that you need to worry about the end :rolleyes:
     
  3. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    yeah it is but the waiting is gruesome......Panda cloud is built on the strength of the huge cloud user base.....so more beta testers......and it should help panda wake out of the phase quickly.....


    but panda cloud will end with the world.......and I'll be left to use the panda clone here in this parallel Earth....this panda is not cute and soft but angry, huge and mean both to malware and my high-tech cutting-edge pc......
     
  4. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    I had a most unpleasant experience today. I uninstalled 'The cloud' to try other AVs. Uggh. Gave up on Bitdefender - the slowest install in the world, and then some. AVG kept giving me BSoDs. Its gone.

    But one point about AVG. Web pages opened a hell of a lot quicker. Why would that be? Can I do anthing to 'the cloud' to get more browser speed? Uninstall phishing?

    Sure is nice to see the Panda back in the sys. tray again.
     
  5. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Definitely. :thumb: :)


    That was one very confusing thread. :argh: The URL Filtering has not yet been integrated into the UI, but pbust did say they were discussing it.
     
  6. progress

    progress Guest

    Did you get a notification before the licence expired (I hope so because it's impossible to see the licence details in PCAV) or did it just stop? :doubt:
     
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,476
    Location:
    Outer space
    I don't know, my relative informed only after it expired.
     
  8. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    I see one can still buy 1.5 pro although 1.9 must be smothering sales. What happens to the poor unfortunates who buy 1.5 in good faith. Is there a free migration to 2.0 Pro?
     
  9. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    What do you mean? 2.0 isn't out yet. But yes, all PRO users get free automatic upgrades to new features.
     
  10. 22ndcitysaint

    22ndcitysaint Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    PH
    Just installed PCAV now, running along with Shadow Defender. Are there folders that I have to exclude? Or no need to exclude since it doesn't have updates?
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    it synchronizes the definition cache with the cloud and have product updates.....
     
  12. 22ndcitysaint

    22ndcitysaint Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    PH
    OK, thanks! PCAV's realtime protection doesnt work when in Shadow Mode, so I just removed SD. I've been also testing it with malwares and IMO it has better detection than my preferred AV before. And it's running really light here so I think I'll stay with PCAV for a while. :D

    I have another question, is it necessary to do a full scan of my system?
     
  13. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Personally I only run a full system scan after first install to it can start caching all the clean files on my machine. However it's not required it's just what I personally prefer.
     
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I used to run full scan once a month .....pcav runs faster that way.......fills the cache......
     
  15. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    As no doubt nearly all have seen the Emsisoft Anti-Malware promo $8 for 1 year. Do anti-malware programs like Emsisoft Anti-Malware and MBAM compliment Panda AV or does Panda already have most malware covered?
     
  16. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I believe the whole Panda line of products neutralizes suspicious or infected files. No choice is offered...:eek: :)
     
  17. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    So the purpose of the recycle bin is what then?
     
  18. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    PCAV will automatically send suspicious/infected files to the recycle bin with no user choice given. You can recover them from there later on if you want to.
     
  19. 22ndcitysaint

    22ndcitysaint Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    PH
    Is there a notification when the cache is successfully synchronized with the cloud? And how frequent are these synchronizations per day? Using PCAV since yesterday and I only saw one (on the event report) that 'the computer has successfully synchronized with the cloud..'

    Thanks again! :D
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    afaik, there's no notification and no frequency....only randomness.......
     
  21. 22ndcitysaint

    22ndcitysaint Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    PH
    Just did some backreading here, already found the answer to my question. :thumb:

    EDIT: I use CCleaner for cleaning temp files, cache etc. Does this affect and delete PCAV's cache?
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2011
  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    no .......and even if ccleaner shows panda temp files,cache,etc to be removed after analyzing...all those files would be OK to delete as they would be under the UserTemp directories which is used to uncompress the installer......
     
  23. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    469
    Location:
    Belgium
    Since i switched from Avira to Panda Cloud AV, i always have multiple multiple-seconds lockups while extracting archives using Winrar. With Avira extracting went smooth as silk. Guess it's not that "light as a feather" at all.
     
  24. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
  25. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.