Panda Cloud Antivirus 1.3

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by pbust, Oct 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Read my previous post carefully in this thread. I have my own source of malware samples and they were not collected from MDL and I tested a lot more than 50 samples. I test around 50 samples _each day_. So the number is probably around 500-1000 0-day samples, which gives you an idea of how effective an AV is. In fact, I can't even download stuff from MDL due to Clear Cloud DNS which blocks every single link posted on that site.
     
  2. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    I stand corrected. However, I'm sure you'll agree there is still a problem with zero-day malware in that they don't last very long as it moves around very quickly as you've more than likely seen when you look at your malware source(s) each day.
     
  3. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Agreed.
     
  4. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Keep in mind, a lot of malware protection services/programs are now adding sites like the MDL, to give the impression their software is providing exceptional protection. (I know you mentioned though, you gathered your samples from various sources)

    Also, if malware samples are missed by a program (eg. panda), but the samples aren't being actively circulated or downloaded by internet users (on sites people would actually download from), than the malware is already ineffective.

    About the new release, very generous of you pbust offering the full version to users. Thanks.
     
  5. Melchi501

    Melchi501 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    90
    :thumb: :thumb:

    Thanks Panda team
     
  6. carat

    carat Guest

    I got a windows security center warning: No antivirus installed!

    How can I solve this problem? :doubt:
     
  7. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    Turn off Windows Security Centre notifications - it's not necessary if you have a modicum of control of, or interest in, your security set-up!
     
  8. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Same problem here on Windows 7 x64. Already tried to reset/delete the repository but it doesn't solve the problem. Hopefully pbust can help us here :)
     
  9. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
  10. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @pbust
    First of all thanks for the new version and the generous offer!
    I was aware of this solution and I tried it, I've got a fully new generated repository but PCA is still not detected. Thanks for the quick reply :thumb:
    Also tried the method described here: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN217
     
  11. PintoX

    PintoX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Portugal
    Panda Antivirus PRO 2011 is better in detection rates? Or is the same? What is the main diference?
     
  12. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    I'll PM you a tool that'll query the WSC and see what it is seeing.
     
  13. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    Signature and heuristic wise its pretty much the same.
    However there are differences based on the additional layers of protection. PavPro has firewall, identity protection, a different behavioural analysis engine, etc.
     
  14. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,506
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    @pbust.....Is Panda planning on adding a scheduled scan option to Panda Cloud Pro in the future?
     
  15. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    PCAV already does its own background scans every so often of memory and objects it needs to check periodically, so there's really no need for a scheduled scan. We might include it in the future but its not one of the priorities.
     
  16. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
  17. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,506
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    Thanks for the heads up pbust. I didn't know that PCAV performs background scans.
     
  18. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    Does PCAV have a fingerprinting tech to speed things up over time?
     
  19. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    From my experience (I used the license on my Bro's laptop, and i used the free version for quite some time before) it seems like it doesn't have :D
     
  20. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    Yes it does. It builds a dynamic cache of the scanned items so as to not scan them over and over. However objects in that cache have an expiration date depending on some variables, so as to check a file again in case it is detected in the future and for some reason was not previously detected.

    At its peak with the cache fully and recently loaded, it should speed scans up to 3-5 times faster.
     
  21. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    Is there a way to set the expiration date in the cache to rescan at different times? Or is there only the default?
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    pbust, there is a bug in Behavior blocker part.

    When i wanted to install Foxit PDF plugin for Firefox through Foxit PDF Reader, PCAV jumped and blocked the action. However, this very action is perfectly legit. Any way to somehow whitelist this?
     
  23. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Wow, sorry for my mis-informational post :D
     
  24. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    Right now there isn't, but that's an interesting suggestion for a future setting for the advanced configuration. Thanks!

    Thanks for the report. Right now there's no whitelist, only workaround is to temporarily disable the behaviour blocker, install the plugin and then re-enable the behaviour blocker. But with 1.3 we added hot-updating of behaviour blocking rules, so we will push the fix out to everybody as soon as we fix it.
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Thx pbust. Would it be possible to "upgrade" this blocking rule, so it would be a bit more fine tuned around Foxit PDF Reader? If there is no whitelisting, i guess you could refine the rule a bit so it will only jump on actually malicious actions.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.