Panda Antivirus Pro 2009

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Mar 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Now I am the last person who would ever thought of using a Panda product but, every time I installed any version of any of their products it was a nightmare.

    But 2009 has shocked me like Norton 2009 shocked old Norton users. Setup was a breeze and my PC is as fast as with Avira. Actually found some of those nasty cookies on the start up scan that Avira doesnt. I realize they are harmless but it showed me they are serious about creating products that people will actually want to buy. The firewall was a breeze. For right now, Panda gets an official :thumb: for their 2009 lineup. Off to buy. ;)
     
  2. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hopefully you're not going to use any kind of VPN, then you're in for some serious troubles, with the firewall ;)


    Cheers
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    all I know is, I am using it, I like it, and I bought it. It is like night and day over previous versions. And yes, every suite or av has issues, but this is really nice from Panda.
     
  4. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    422
    Interesting. Never liked Panda's products, but haven't tried the latest version. Will for sure give it a shot now.
     
  5. TrojanHunter

    TrojanHunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I was using a 3 month trial a while ago of their sercurity suite 2009, that came free with a magazine. I thought it was ok, but nothing about the software impressed me greatly. I also dislike the lack of testing, so it's hard to say how effective Panda really is.
     
  6. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I agree...it is hard to know what you are buying without some testing. On the other hand it looks like trjam is using DefenseWall so pretty much everything nasty is already contained.
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yeah, it grew heavier quicker then my wife.:doubt: So I dumped it. Actually I am using my other favorite fat heavy weight. F-Secure. I have honestly found that F-Secure and Defensewall are the 2 hardest for me to run from. Dont use them together but in different snapshots and also Avira. My fav 3.;)
     
  8. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I hope your wife doesn't visit this forum! :eek:

    DW can get a little heavy over time but nothing that a reboot doesn't fix, in my experience.
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    name me a product that doesnt get faster with a reboot. I mean that is the reality. I have 2 computers up 24/7 and it doesnt take long for slowville to appear. Panda appeared fairly quick. They have improved it and my bet would be 2010 will be the kicker. I just luv F-Secure. It gives me my HIPS and if loaded correctly is as fast as the rest. Geswall:thumbd: I would take Defensewall in a second over it.
     
  10. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Err....Maybe, PlaceboAV :)
     
  11. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Just out of interest, what's their Activescan product like?
    http://www.nanoscan.com/

    Tried the free scan on the work computer (no registration needed), seemed very thorough, didn't slow the system down, and the results screen showed a number of 'vulnerabilities', such as software drivers, and links to patches from the microsoft site. All which were relevant and needed upgrading.

    The results come up with their 'encyclopedia' page, which displays some good information. Some detailed info there.

    Obviously similar to prevx CSI. Anyone else tried/used it?

    activescan.jpg
    activescan 2.jpg
    ac 3.jpg
    ac 4.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
  12. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    No thoughts? No one cares? :p
     
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Agreed. Always liked the GUI though.
     
  14. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Actually I think no one else has used the service. And (like me) no one has decided to be adventures today.
     
  15. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    If you don't register, it's just a detect only scan. If you register a username, it cleans.

    What I found useful on the work computer, where .exe programs like CureIt will not even execute, and programs like MBAM, SAS and others won't update, nor will online scans like BitDefender (new qscan) or F-Secure online scan will work/update through the work firewall, this one....actually works.

    Just for interest.
     
  16. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    adventurous?
     
  17. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    You're right. My bad typo, sorry.
     
  18. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Just helping out, my english also needs improvement :oops:
     
  19. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Even in safe-mode?
     
  20. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Haven't tried safe-mode (CureIt, MBAM etc), but I'll give it a shot on Monday and let you know.

    If, and I stress 'if', this 'activescan' program is good, it's actually a fairly inexpensive program for those that don't want a resident scanner, but want something 'on-demand'.

    Around US$12 for the year (double AU prices - due to exchange rate).

    As this works through a browser that supports ActiveX, and you have to log in to use the service, wonder if this works on 'multiple' systems, say laptop, work computer etc?

    panda.jpg
     
  21. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.