Panda Antivirus Platinum 7.0?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Straight Shooter, Dec 30, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Although I am a NOD32 obsessed fan and will stick to waiting for the official release of Version 2, I am studying alternatives to other AV's, just in case.. Has anyone tried the new Panda AV Platinum? It looks like it has a great interface! However, even though I should not compare an older version with a brand new one, it did pretty lousy in VB's tests a while ago. Still, from the description, it sounds nice! Any one, please?

2. wizard

wizard Registered Member

I would not go for Panda AV. I rate it as average. NOD32 is definitly the better choice.

wizard

3. I agree. I heard it was a real resource hog...and it doesn't generally catch all the viruses.. I ran the beta version of NOD32 until last night, due mostly to IMON crashing Outlook Express when I was getting Klez infected emails.. Then again, others did not have that problem.. I trust ESET and NOD32. It's hard, if not impossible, for me to place that level of trsut with another product. I'll wait for the Final Nod ver 2. I thought I may play it safe, and look around. The only other product I may consider, if NOD ver 2 is a bomb, is maybe escan, at www.mwti.com

I don't think ESET will ruin a good thing, however...NO other AV passed the VB over 20 times!!!!

4. wizard

wizard Registered Member

Escan is also a real nice av. It uses Kaspersky (KAV) engine. :)

wizard