Panda 2016 Consumer Products released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by LagerX, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
  2. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
  3. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Is this mostly a re-skin?
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Seems like they've only updated the interface. It looks good I must say, but AV is more about other things than visuals... Also still no integrated URL blocking. Ugh...
     
  5. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
    Seems like Free Antivirus has no new features other than new skin. However, beta site explained "New collective intelligence" as one of the new features, so perhaps there is new engine. I think we'd have to compare driver versions to determine any real changes :)
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I kinda wish there was someone representing panda here to explain things like this. We used to have pbust, but he left Panda so there's that...
     
  7. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
    Still, Panda Free is amongst the best free AVs out there that supports true set-and-forget solution :)
    I'd like to hear about changes behind the hood - engine/protection mechanism. All new features are for Premium products and the main antivirus component is left out from changelog...

    By the way, new PSUAService has version number 4.0.0.636 and PSUAMain 4.0.0.644
    Anyone using 2015 version can check the old numbering? C:\Program Files (x86)\Panda Security\Panda Security Protection

    EDIT:
    http://www.cybersafety.co.za/pandas-2016-consumer-solutions-designed-for-multiple-devices/
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  8. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    558
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    I must say:
    Very nice upgrade to the UI

    I didn't like the previous bling-bling WIN8 Style UI
     
  9. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
    I find their UI glumsy and it stuttering.
     
  10. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Some screenshots maybe ? I would like too see it. :)
     
  11. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    is this the same panda that flagged itself as malware couple of months ago you are talking about here?
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  13. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    so, have they added process protection for the av's services to prevent tampering? or fixed the hilarious spanglish localization bugs in the scan scheduling ui? (reported those during 4 beta periods in a row and they never got fixed)
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, but this false positive problem would have been alleviated somewhat just by switching off the automatic quarantining process. It's one of the reasons I like Panda Free and I wasn't affected by the dreaded Panda Will Eat Itself event as fortunately I had in fact done this. I don't trust any AV and Panda Cloud has had its fair share of f/p's over the years. It's still the best and lightest free AV out there IMO.

    pandasc16.jpg
     
  15. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    yeah, sure. glad you were fortunate. btw, check out ponteng's post in the link below. apparently some weren't:
    https://forum.raymond.cc/threads/pa...nly-flags-itself-as-malware-bricks-pcs.40877/

    oh, and as stated by Hal9000 in his post in the same link, "flagging Windows files is one thing, flagging your own files is something else".
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  16. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    I think the product itself is quite good, but in all honesty, I think their URL protection has always been wonky and never quite worked all that well (At least for me).

    In my opinion, I think they need to integrate the URL protection, rather than having it as a separate process/tool.

    If they did that, I think the product would be pretty close to flawless.
     
  17. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,281
    I checked the scan scheduling interface in both English and Spanish, didn´t find any "spanglish".
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, it was a bit of a borkfest for many. It's a bit worrying, this is another reason why my laptop runs Ubuntu. Meanwhile my Win 7 desktop soldiers on with Panda. :doubt:
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Can't find the Panda URL Protection tool download. Is it freeware? If so link please.
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Panda is actually a Spanish (Bilbao, Basque Country) company though. So Spanish and Euskara Batua would be native languages to them anyway.
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Isn't it offered on install?
     
  22. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Their URL protection has always been provided by Visicomm Media, found here ---> http://software.visicommedia.com/en/phishingtest/

    If you're not wanting to install the full Panda product, then I believe that is the place to obtain the URL filter, otherwise, it's included with the Panda Antivirus installer.

    Hope that helps

    Note: Yes, the URL filter is freeware.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2015
  23. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    WOW SO MUCH better than the previous mess of a gui. that was a disaster imo. still not a fan though still to heavy on the system (the i.s. version)
     
  24. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Ok, so I decided to give the new version a test run, here are my initial impressions...

    My Panda Free 2016 initial impressions:

    Pros:


    1. The new interface and tray icon are leaps better than previous Panda builds (Feels more professional and clean)
    2. URL Filtering actually works (Tested using Malware domain list)
    3. Protection is top notch (Did well during my own short tests)
    4. Advertisements can be avoided by unchecking news and logging into your Panda account.
    5. Options are simple and easy to find.
    6. RAM and CPU usage is light as usual
    7. 100% cloud based.
    8. Scan speed is pretty good, no complaints.
    9. USB Scan notification, when a USB device is inserted.

    Cons:

    1. Panda adds a longer startup time to the computer (Even on a machine with SSD, Quad Core CPU and 16GB of RAM) Seems to be corrected after full system scan is done and after a few restarts.
    2. Even though URL filtering works in this version, I still wish that it was integrated into the antivirus itself.

    Verdict: Panda is better than ever and definitely going in the right direction. I went AV free for awhile, but after using this, it makes me want to use one again. Overall, I think it's great and I highly recommend it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2015
  25. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    Color me surprised. The easiest way that i remember to trigger one localization bug was to schedule a scan and include " boot". There were others, but I can't remember them offhand.
     
Loading...