Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List (Solved)

Discussion in 'Colasoft Free Network Tools' started by PeteD, Feb 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PeteD

    PeteD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    I have just installed Packet Builder (build 149) and the program fails to detect a network adaptor. None are listed in the selection drop down list. I have also tried an earlier version (138 ) without success. Both packet player and MAC scanner tools on the same PC have no such problems and the adaptors are listed.

    PC:
    Asus P5B (integrated Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC)
    Intel Core2Duo E6750
    2GB Crucial PC6400
    WinXP Pro SP2

    Strangely, an identical PC (hardware wise) running Vista works. I've copied over the working folder from this PC to the Win XP one but still no joy.

    Is there a registry setting I can edit? I've looked but could not find one.

    Thanks.

    Update: I've now tried this on my company laptop, also WinXP SP2 and I get the same problem. Is this application broken on XP?? I get the error message box 'Not find adaptor' on both XP PC's.

    I did find a regisitry entry for default adaptor, but it was empty. I added in the keys from the Vista PC and edited the driver path but I still cold not get it to work.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2008
  2. Colasoft Support

    Colasoft Support Colasoft Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    254
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi PeteD,

    Thanks for your messages.
    Would you please do a test for us as follow steps?

    1). Exit all running programs and delete key
    'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Colasoft\CSNDIS64\PktBuilder' in registry,

    2). Exit all running programs,input commands in "Start->Run" as follows:
    PktBuilder.exe /regserver

    3). Start Packet Builder and try again.

    If any other questions, please feel free to contact us.

    Regards!

    Synge
     
  3. PeteD

    PeteD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Synge

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I tried what you suggested, but to no avail. I still get the same problem; no adaptors found. I ran the 'PktBuilder.exe /regserver' command from inside the application folder to ensure the path was correct etc, but the keys were always added back as they were before I deleted them.

    The following key seems to be the closest I can get to it working.

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Colasoft\Colasoft Packet Builder\Settings\Default Adapter

    In here (under Vista) there are 2 other keys, 'Driver' and 'Name'. I can get packet builder to recognise the adaptor name in XP, but a do not know how to specify the driver details in a way that the program would want it. Under Vista, the driver string was an alien language to me. I tried to enter the path to the driver sys file, but that did not work either. If you have this working on an XP PC, could you post the driver string syntax please, so I can try to work it out for my NIC.

    Or any other suggestions would be welcomed.

    Thanks.

    Pete
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2008
  4. Colasoft Support

    Colasoft Support Colasoft Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    254
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi PeteD,

    As you mentiond, please try again as follow steps:
    Step 1: First, you must exit all of our products, such as Capsa, Packet Player and Packet Builder;
    Step 2: Run regedit.exe, and delete all below keys:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Colasoft\CSNDIS64
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\CSNDIS5
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet003\Services\CSNDIS5
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\CSNDIS5
    Step 3: Import the registry file 'CSNDIS64.reg' compressed file. (Because the forum forbid poster upload a *.rar or *.reg file, please provide you email address to me via PE. Then I will send the file 'CSNDIS64.reg' to you.)
    Step 4: Restart the program in step 1.

    If any other question, please feel free to contact me.

    Best regards!

    Synge
     
  5. PeteD

    PeteD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Synge

    PM sent.

    Thanks.

    Pete
     
  6. Colasoft Support

    Colasoft Support Colasoft Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    254
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi PeteD:

    I have sent the reg file to your mailbox. Please check it.

    Regards!

    Synge
     
  7. PeteD

    PeteD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Synge

    I got your email, but there was no attachment with it. Could you re-send it to me when you get a chance?

    Thanks.

    Pete
     
  8. Colasoft

    Colasoft Colasoft Support

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Colasoft Co., Ltd.
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hello Pete,

    We are now all spending the Spring Festival holiday, so we cannot send you the file right now, but we will contact you as soon as possible when we are back to work. Thank you for your understanding.:)

    regards,

    Kevin
     
  9. PeteD

    PeteD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    No problem.

    Enjoy your time off.

    Cheers.

    Pete
     
  10. PeteD

    PeteD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Synge

    Thanks for the reg file. Unfortunately it still did not work after I followed your insrtructions above. I still get the error message "Not find adapter".

    It also resulted in the packet player application failing to find an adaptor, so I've had to un-install everything, delete the reg keys created using the file you sent me and then re-install.

    If you have any other ideas, please let me know.

    Thanks

    Pete
     
  11. mluckhurst

    mluckhurst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Rochester NY USA
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Greetings,

    I too am having the same issue - no adapters visible. I tried the registry changes suggested by Synge, and added the reg file as per the instructions.

    Still no adapters.

    This is not an emergency, but if a solutin is found I would be interested.

    Thanks!

    Mike

    My system:
    64 bit hardware (hp dv9000t laptop)
    64 bit Vista Ultimate
    Intel wireless adapter and ethernet card
     
  12. Colasoft Support

    Colasoft Support Colasoft Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    254
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Mike,

    Thank you for your post here.

    I neglected the system information in the previous letter, sorry for any inconvenient.

    As you mentioned, installation pack - pktbuilder_setup.exe does not support Vista 64-bit. Only the installation pack of Packet Builder within Capsa support it. However, we planning realease Capsa 6.7 two days later. We will renew the installation pack of all the free tools at the same time, and then pktbuilder_setup.exe will support Vista 64-bit. I will let you all know once it is available.

    Best regards!

    Synge
     
  13. Colasoft Support

    Colasoft Support Colasoft Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    254
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Pete,

    Which version of WinXP Pro SP2 you used? Is 32-bit or 64-bit? If you used 64-bit, it is sorry to say installation pack - pktbuilder_setup.exe does not support 64-bit. Please refer to the previous post. I will let you all know once it is available.

    Best regards!

    Synge
     
  14. PeteD

    PeteD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Synge

    I only use 32bit XP Pro SP2. As I mentioned before, the software works perfectly under 32bit Vista. It's just XP that has the problem. I've tried it on 3 different XP PC's now (all fully updated via Windows update), and get the same problem on all of them "No find adaptor".

    Cheers.

    Pete
     
  15. Colasoft Support

    Colasoft Support Colasoft Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    254
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Pete,

    Thank you for your post.

    In order to help us to analyze the event you mentioned, would you please export registry file "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Colasoft" in which all the 3 different XP PCs as .reg format and send to my mailbox? That will be appreciate.

    Furthermore, have you download the installation pack - pktbuilder_setup.exe independently? Or it comes from Capsa's installation pack. Please let me know.

    Thank you for your kind help.

    Best regards!

    Synge
     
  16. PeteD

    PeteD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Synge

    I have registry keys exported from 2 of the XP PC's and also from the working Vista 32bit PC which I will email to you. I don't have access to the third PC at the moment, but I'm pretty sure it is the same as the other two.

    I have also included the keys from XP and Vista HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Colasoft. This is where the problem seems to be. Under Vista, the key for default adaptor contains info for the actual network card, whereas on the XP PC's, the default adaptor is blank.

    I installed all the free tools from the individual files downloaded from your web site.

    Hope that helps.

    Cheers.

    Pete
     
  17. Colasoft Support

    Colasoft Support Colasoft Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    254
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Pete,

    Thank you for your kind assistance.

    I send a new file to your mailbox, please check it. Hope it will be helpful. If it solve the problem, please let me know.

    Best regards!

    Synge
     
  18. PeteD

    PeteD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Synge

    Thanks for all the help, it is now all working properly. Great support service for a freeware tool.

    For anyone else having similar problems, try copying the following text (between the lines) into notepad and save it out as a *.reg file and import it (double click it). Hopefully it will work for you as well.

    -----------------------------------------------

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Colasoft\CSNDIS64\PktBuilder\Drivers]
    "NDIS51"="CSNPD51"
    "NDIS50"="CSNPD51"
    "NDIS60"="CSNPD51"

    -----------------------------------------------

    Cheers.

    Pete
     
  19. Colasoft Support

    Colasoft Support Colasoft Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    254
    Re: Packet Builder: No NIC's in Adaptors List

    Hi Pete,

    Thank you for your posts.

    We appreciate you to be a kind assistance in this issue and hope you are happy with Colasoft's products.

    If you have any questions or suggestions in the future, please feel free to post here.

    Best regards!

    Sincerely,

    Synge Wong
     
  20. d_hopper

    d_hopper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Before I get into any details, I'll just ask this quick question. Does Packet Builder work with dial-up (modem) connections? Because I am also having trouble getting it to recognize any adapters. If it means anything, Wireshark works just fine on my system and I have tried the regedit suggestion above to no avail. Thanks in advance.

    d_

    p.s. I forgot to mention that I do have a network card which Packet Builder does recognize with out any problems, but I'm not using it at the moment.
     
  21. Colasoft Support

    Colasoft Support Colasoft Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    254

    Hi there.
    In the dial-up connections, you are actually using a virtual NIC to send and receive data.
    There are two procedures:
    1) Digital data transition. The virtual NIC send/receive digital data to the modem.
    2) Digital data transformation. The modem will transform the digital data into analog signals so that they can be carried by the phone line.

    What wireshark did is to capture the data before modem.
    Wireshark is a strong and free tool. And it is open source software.
    We have to admit that there are actually things others can do but we can not.:ouch:
    For the current versions of packet builder, virtual NIC is not supported.:p

    But tomorrow,
    Who knows?

    We will try hard to offer users the best convenience.
     
  22. d_hopper

    d_hopper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    D'oh! Well, I do appreciate your quick response. Outside of that little hiccup, I think it is a superb piece of work. And I will definitely be recommending it to others. Keep up the good work!

    d_
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.