Oxon Trojan

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Six, May 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Six

Six Registered Member

Hi everyone ... I know alot of people hold TDS 3 in high regards so don't jump on me with both feet all at once :D

I am new to TDS and (Wilders) and have a few concerns about TDS and it's creator's DCL of DCS.

First off ... does anyone know why Webroot's Spysweeper flags the Trojan "OXON" in TDS-3? and not as a variant or a trace either ... it is an exact match.
    c:\program files\diamond computer systems\tds-3\target.txt
    Oxon is a trojan that allows an unauthorized user to control certain aspects of your computer.

This isn't a normal .txt file either, if you open notepad and write (127.0.0.1) and save it with the exact name in the exact place as the original it will still create a new target.txt file on TDS restart ... and if it is completely deleted it regenerates the next time TDS is run as well. i am assuming some how it can be used in a manner like the Windows "HOSTS" file is ... which can be very dangerous as it contains the local host internal I.P. (127.0.0.1).

Secondly ... i have had my Windows host file hijacked several times by DCS RESEARCH and it took me about 3 months to make the connection to Diamond Computer Systems ...To say i am having serious second thoughts about DCS and any of their products is a major understatement.

Now i know that the Oxon trojan may be a false positive but i have waited for 2 month's and 5 definition updates from Webroot before bringing this up to hopefully rule that option out or at least make it alot more unlikely.

And maybe DCS Research is someone other than Diamond Computer Systems and it's just a coincidence or maybe it's some bottom feeders trying to sully TDS 3's name ... but i am thinking why take the chance.

Any ideas or help would be appreciated.

2. Wayne - DiamondCS

Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

Hi Six,
    Welcome to the forums.