outpost's cfg file - bad format?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by outpost user, Oct 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. outpost user

    outpost user Guest

  2. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    The only option I could suggest would be to use a hex editor to compare the "corrupted" file with a new one since the problem could be just in the first few bytes.

    However creating a new configuration from scratch would likely take less time. You may also find using disk imaging software (like Drive Snapshot or Acronis TrueImage) to take a full backup a more reliable alternative than System Restore.
     
  3. Outpost user

    Outpost user Guest

    I also grabbed a cfg file from secure zone - same problem. I didn't use TI because image was a little old.
     
  4. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    That suggests that the configuration may have been altered by another program since even an old configuration from a previous Outpost version should be read in (what do you mean by secure zone?). However this doesn't change my suggestion given above.
     
  5. outpost user

    outpost user Guest

    this sucks. I don't really want to configure it all over. I guess I have to

    You don't know what Acronis secure zone is?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.