Outpost Security Suite 2009 lastest build Blocks VMWare box from Internetwork Access

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Xitrum, Jun 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Xitrum

    Xitrum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    56
    I have OPSS lastest build running on the host, and vmware windows xp guest. The vmware virtual box now is no internet access out successfully for the fact that OPSS is blocking every access out from the virtual box as seen from OPSS firewall log entries, for example:
    6/3/2009 8:03:32 PM Block OUT TCP SYN Block Transit Packets 192.168.1.2:1399 78.159.100.22:443 OUT, TCP 48
    6/3/2009 8:01:05 PM Block OUT TCP SYN Block Transit Packets 192.168.1.2:1386 87.98.184.56:80 OUT, TCP 48

    Firewall of OPSS is set in auto learning mode. Anyone can confirm and has a work out on this.
     
  2. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    What network connections do your vms use?..eg NAT, Bridged...

    I've also found you a KB article so that you can set a general IP address rule.

    Outpost can block transit packets and prevent VMWare virtual machines from accessing the network, let me know the answer to the above question and we can go from there.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2009
  3. Xitrum

    Xitrum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    56
    My box is with vmware virtual subnet bridged to the host physical network interface.
    Thanks so much for the findout. I will let the situation is solved or not to confirm it.

    Do you think this is a typo for the second addition f/w rule in BRIDGE mode case:

    If your virtual machine gets its dynamic IP address via DHCP, it is necessary to create additional low-level rules for Outpost Firewall Pro 2008 and Outpost Security Suite Pro 2008:

    1. Click Settings > Network Rules > System-Wide Rules > Low-Level Rules.
    2. Click Add and create the following rule:

    Where the protocol is UDP
    and remote port is 67, 68, 546, 547
    and local port is 67, 68, 546, 547
    Allow
    Click OK to save the changes.

    This additional rule is just for OPSS2008, not for OPSS2009 for the fact that there is no options to set ports. Does it mean that the additional rule is not needed to set in OPSS2009?
    So far, I can see OPSS2009 showing it lets internetwork access in, but it is not internet access successfully yet.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2009
  4. Xitrum

    Xitrum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    56
    Yeah, it is not need to set the additional rule in BRIDGE mode of vmware being with OPSS-2009.
    And, its internet access out is working now.

    Thanks, it is solved well.
     
  5. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    okay great :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.