Outpost rules - how do i learn this?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by timnicebutdim, Feb 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. timnicebutdim

timnicebutdim Registered Member

I am a novice, know nothing about ports, tcp, udp, ect. I am currently using a trial version of outpost pro ( latest version ).
    I would like to learn how to set up custom rules for applications through the outpost firewall but i find it very confusing.
    I have read the tutorial ( http://www.outpostfirewall.com/guide/rules/scratch.htm ) for this and understand how to change the settings for making a custom rule.

The problem is that i would have no idea when to select when making a rule. How is a novice to learn if he should select tcp or udp or outgoing or incoming for a particular application?

For example: I don't understand tcp, udp and general network terms and even when trying to study into these i find more technical terms in the definitions for them. Is there knowhere online that can explain in simple terms ( not jargon ) what these terms mean?

Also even if i manage to learn what these terms mean, how am i supposed to know what an application is trying to do to set the rule?

For example: How am i supposed to know if an application should have outbound or inbound access? I know that this might seem obvious if i know what the application is supposed to do but without having actually programmed the application how can i know for sure it doesnt need inbound also.. if i think it only needs outbound and vice versa.

Also... have does a novice know what port an application will need? Since there is thousands of ports numbers how can i make a rule and magically know its port 3764 for example? Is there some special program that examines the application to determine the port or what?