Outpost Problems

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by dueceswild, Jan 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dueceswild

dueceswild Registered Member

I had been wanting to trial Outpost for some time, and the lifetime license kind of pushed it over the edge. I tried to install just the firewall first, then when I got the error message I uninstalled and installed the suite. Anyway, here is the problem as posted at the Outpost user forum. I posted yesterday, and haven't gotten any responses. I was hoping someone here could help. I liked the firewall, but their company support is certainly lacking.
    Here is the post on the forum:
    Hello, I am new to Outpost after having run ZA for many years. I installed (or tried to) a trial of both OSS Pro and just the firewall (obviously at different times . Both installed fine I thought, but upon restart I got the same messages as the OP. I tried to do what he did, and it didn't work. Actually tried several times. I tried various combinations; downloaded each several times and tried installs. Installed directly from the website. Tried to install with the AV uninstalled, installed, off, etc. (Running Avira Premium). I uninstalled completely each time; down to cleaning the registry with power tools.
    I entirely uninstalled ZA prior to attempting to install Outpost; after several years of use I am fairly familiar with how to do a clean uninstall of ZA. No matter what I did, on restart I would get the same message as the OP. I saw no errors during install. My device manager shows the loaded Outpost drivers, with yellow exclamation points. It attributes Windows error 19, but won't allow me to troubleshoot, or delete. Says the drivers may be necessary to boot. I would really like to run this product; I was impressed with what little bit worked. Needless to say, I was also impressed with the lifetime license as well. I would settle for getting OSS or the firewall to work.