Outpost pro support windows 7 32bit?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Brocke, Nov 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    I checked their website and it said windows 7 beta, new. so i dont know

    Are there any issue with Windows 7 with it?

    thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2009
  2. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    The coming Outpost 7.0 will fully support Windows 7.
     
  3. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,081
    Yes, is like a beta support but for me worked quite well
     
  4. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    I' running OSS 2009 in Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit with no issue whatsoever. I cannot wait for OSS 2010 :cool: .
     
  5. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    On my 64bit Outpost Pro works like a charm too. Then a 32 bit system must not be a problem. And does anyone know when a new version will arrive?
     
  6. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    i was running an older ver. of outpost how come outpost doesnt update the app? i had to go and download it and install it my self.
     
  7. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Hi Brocke, when it comes to full product upgrades, it's been this way with Agnitum for a long time where you need to download the upgrade and install it manually.
     
  8. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi: I`m running OP Pro FW 2009 on a 32 bit xp sp3 desktop AND a Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit i7 processor.

    All run fine. But as with all FW`s you have to know what you are doing and why to set them up to meet YOUR needs

    See this OP link in windows 7 tesing

    http://www.agnitum.com/news/agnitumnewsletter/index.php
     
  9. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    anyone know what features are going to be add for outpost pro 2010?
     
  10. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Well, I don't but there is 3 month version release schedule plan with this vendor last one was September when their W7 support arrived.

    Maybe more information at that time.
     
  11. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    The only issue for me with Win7 and Outpost Pro is my FTP program is slow as molasses and constantly drops out, and hangs.

    But that's not exactly Win7 it's a third party app, however the same combo worked perfect on XP.
     
  12. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi:

    Could you take the time to do a small experiment to test if OP is the cause? Respectfully suggest the following:

    1) Repeat "as is" untill the "molasses" conditions are occuring again. Record I/O byte metrics for FTP program and cpu usuage for say 2-3 minutes.

    2) When 1 is "true" exit asap from OP so OP is out of the equation.

    3) Turn on the Window7 FW.

    4) Continue with the FTP for same time and Record same metrics as in 1.

    5) Report results of your experiment:cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.