Outpost Pro 4; Spyware Doctor tried to terminate the firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Mover, Nov 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mover

    Mover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    165
    Spyware Doctor tried to terminate Outpost Pro 4 this morning after a Windows update to IE7. Anyone else have this happen ? Below is a screen shot.

    The Windows update had nothing to do with this action that SD took. I just thought I'd list the event that had just completed prior to getting the warning from Outpost.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 4, 2006
  2. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Hi Mover,

    You may take a look of this thread in the Outpost forum:

    http://outpostfirewall.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18581
     
  3. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Fellow Creatures,
    In reading the link, I to have had issues with the Self Protection option on OutPost. It would not allow AVG to update and I was constantly allowing it to make rules and then the Self Protection thing would come up. I consider this to be a major issue that OutPost techs should address. There should be an exclusion list or a work around...including for the Spyware programs of other companies. :thumb:

    I currently have Self Protection disabled that is to radical a move to make. All or nothing. :p

    So your product is not the only one with issues.
     
  4. Mover

    Mover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    165
    I read the thread and post #9 caught my attention.

    On the 'Self Protection' Alert thats shown, there is an option 'Never Report this Event'. By checking this option, will all attempted terminations not show an alert or only when Spyware Doctor tries to terminate Outpost ?

    On Spyware Doctor, I could go to

    OnGuard ->Process Guard -> Add Application (at the bottom)
    and add Outpost to this list.

    BTW, I haven't changed anything since I initially got the alert from Outpost. When I reboot, I'm no longer getting the alert from Outpost that SD is trying to terminate it o_O
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.