Outpost Pro 2.6.451.5123 released!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by QBgreen, Apr 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    As of this morning, this version is now available for download. What's new/changed?

    Agnitum’s Outpost Firewall 2.6 boasts powerful new improvements in security and performance. Version 2.6 even includes the new Outpost Firewall Browser Adjustment plug-in so you can control your Ads and Active Content plug-in directly from within Internet Explorer.

    The following issues are fixed (only major are listed):

    - Several shell crashes
    - Agnitum Update issues
    - Outpost did not accept the registration key after the update period had expired
    - Issues with FTP clients under Windows XP SP2 with ICS enabled
    - Several password protection issues
    - Several issues concerning blocking/slowing down of network access
    - Rules Wizard issues on incoming connections

    Scope it out at: http://www.agnitum.com/products/outpost/
     
  2. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
  3. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    I think I'll renew my licence now :)
     
  4. BaRaKa

    BaRaKa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Is it ok to install over a previous version of Outpost or should I uninstall version 2.5 first?
     
  5. Fedorov999

    Fedorov999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Posts:
    182
    Not had a problem myself but I'd be interested to see all those people on the Outpost forums report if it fixes any BSOD problems - I see way too many BSOD postings on those forums and numerous occasions they uninstall Outpost, use a different firewall and their machine is stable again...

    I really hope Agnitum can nail down more BSOD issues.

    Fedorov.
     
  6. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    you can probably install ove 2.5 - i chose not to tho cos all my rules were becoming a mess and i wanted to stat all over

    aboud bsods...ive run op for many years and not had a single bsod since outpost 1 was in beta stages
     
  7. PnP

    PnP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Posts:
    194
    Location:
    Italy
    I try to new version but I see that loss too much performance on my PC... I use new NOD beta but the problem i don't think that antivirus..

    Return to zonealarm.. :(
     
  8. BaRaKa

    BaRaKa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    During installation of new version it asks you to uninstall the old version first. :)
     
  9. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    just to add: I never received any bsod either...
     
  10. BaRaKa

    BaRaKa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Same here. Hope it stays the same way with this new version. :)
     
  11. Mephisto

    Mephisto Guest

    Hopefully this will be a semi working version ... unlike all their previous releases that were beta's at best. I love the firewall but it isn't the most reliable. I have an event log full of Outpost exe crashes and problems.
     
  12. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    thats strange cos i havent had a single problem with it for like 3 years
     
  13. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    It's not that strange actually, and I truely believe that a program doesn't have to react the same on my pc then on yours...even if all the other programs are the same things can happen (bios error, io error, driver issue, corrupt download, whatever)

    I heard from others about numerous bsods...it will be a "wait and see" for a lot of peeps on how this build will be...I'll always use Outpost Pro (mainly because of the plugins like blockpost)...I am trying looknstop now but honestly I like Outpost better, it feels better (and heavier too :)) and why change a winning team right?

    sincerely

    Inf.
     
  14. gottadoit

    gottadoit Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    601
    Location:
    Australia
    I have been thinking of trying out Outpost for a good while now, maybe now is the time to do it

    I'm well and truly sick of ZA 5.x, so I either go back to 4.5.x or use something else
     
  15. Oddbod

    Oddbod Guest

    Has anyone else noticed that in the network activity window, some items are now marked as n/a ?
     
  16. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    the n/a stuff used to be called 'system' before. i think its just dead connections, like if u close a browser while downloading a page the site will still try to send u data..i guess
     
  17. profhsg

    profhsg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Also, when rebooting it asks if you want to continue to use the old configuration files. If, unlike the person who originally asked the question about uninstalling the old version, you wish to keep your current configuration, including all those pesky application permissions, you simply select the use old configuration. Also, it is helpful to back up your config and configuration files ([drive]:/program files/agniutm/outpost firewall/config*.* and configuration*.*] somewhere in case you have to do a "clean" install of the program. That way if the config. files become corrupted you won't have to go through a slew of permission requests if you have to completely uninstall and reinstall the program.
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,049
    Hi Gottadoit

    I just installed Outpost on my new laptap and it works beautifully. I am switching my desktop to outpost, after my final Safe'n'Sec test with ZA. I am switching because when I switched to comcast, suddenly I had a port wide open, and couldn't really figure out why. I trialed Outpost on my desktop and it worked fine, and quickly helped identify the problem. Port now closed.

    Pete
     
  19. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    Yes folks its one arse kickin firewall no one can compare
    and its just keeps gettin better!!
    For Your Info Just In Case
    Please note that Outpost Firewall PRO 2.6 is not yet available through Agnitum Update. So those upgrading will need to download a complete copy from the Outpost PRO Download Page.
     
  20. Jazzie1

    Jazzie1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Posts:
    174
    Hi Peter2150!

    I know this is a bit off-topic, but what test might you be reffering to?

    CU
    Jazzie
     
  21. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    anyone else noticing a terrible slowdown when running windows update with the new ie sidebar thing installed? with it installed it was runing at 11 kbps, once i disabled it win update ran at normal speeds (200kbps)

    dont know if this affects other sites than win update, cos i use firefox for that
     
  22. Oddbod

    Oddbod Guest

    I dont think it says n/a with just dead connections, i get it with blocked ones & system bootps

    n/a 10.132.64.1 BOOTPS Allow Outgoing DHCP 4304 Bytes 0 Bytes 98 bps IN 18:03:41 43 sec(s) 255.255.255.255 UDP BOOTPC ---

    Before that was under system?
     
  23. INTOXSICKATED

    INTOXSICKATED Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    485
    Location:
    Suburbia Hell
    everything seems to be running fine here on my end. however, i don't use internet explorer.
     
  24. Oddbod

    Oddbod Guest

    I dont use most of the plugins, just the ad's & attack detection ones.

    When i went to windowsupdate yesterday to update i first saw that panel thingy, suffice to say it was closed in a shot.

    What agnitum really need to do is get someone from the company to monitor their support forum, if kerio bods monitor things at their forum i dont see why agnitum should ignore their own forum

    PS i only use IE for updates, using IE nowadays is like before U go on holiday & give Ur house keys to Ur burgler neighbour & asking him to keep an eye on the house lol.
     
  25. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    I have been wondering about the o.t.t install or complete uninstall. I was one with the blue screen before they fixed the HT issues and now I am afraid to make a clean install just in case my now working version goes wrong with any left overs there may be if I uninstalled.

    The actual uninstall detailed on OP's forum is very detailed and not just uninstall - clean the bits with a registry cleaner - it goes much deeper than that o_O

    I have just installed o.t.t. for the previous update but now have 2 OP details in my Agnitum folder so this would make 3. Hopefully that is OK as when I discovered I had 2 it was because of the over install when it was available last time via the auto update.

    I have the new version downloaded but will make sure to backup my configs. first. I think I may just keep my old configs as they are/were working :doubt:

    What is the IE bar thing meant to do?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.