Outpost FW

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Infected, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    Trialing v9.1. How long should I leave it in learning mode?
     
  2. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,135
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Hello Infected,
    Usually when you feel comfortable that you have most or all
    your programs you trust real well and other things like..browsers...ect..
    and rules for what your liking is and then lock it down..as I have to 'block most'
    and Outpost has a green shield in the task bar.

    Just be careful when in auto-learn mode it may create rules without your knowledge

    p.s. some folks will do an system image before just in case something goes sideways
    if and when a new version comes out I always run a few malware(Malwarebytes) scans as well
    make sure nothing has gotten through!

    and enjoy one of the top of the line firewalls ever made!!
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
  3. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,135
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
  4. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    I generally start with auto learn on when starting a new configuration. I start from a reboot and then open a few programs that I generally use a lot. Then I switch to the wizard mode for a week or so. Once I feel I have my configuration right then it's the block most policy. By this time nothing usually breaks but if it does then I deleted the app rules and switch back to wizard mode.

    Auto learn is a great tool that needs to be used judiciously so for me a few hours is about the right length of time to use it since I prefer to make rules on my own just the way I want them.

    Obtaining a really tight configuration can take some work and can be debatable whether it's worth it but if that's your goal then our old but still great FAQ is for you: http://www.outpostfirewall.com/foru...-Producing-a-Secure-Configuration-for-Outpost
     
  5. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    Thanks for the reply's. I'll check out both links. Yes, I left it in learning mode for a couple of hours, opened up a lot of my programs so it could set rules. Seems to be working fine so far.
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Does anyone know if Outpost ever implemented any additional default rules to help lock down windows services. They had some issues with a firewall test conducted by AV-Comparatives about a year and half ago. I do know they tested Outpost while it was in training mode, but i'm not sure what affect it had on the test results if any. I personally think Outpost should have not been tested in training mode, but AV-comparatives also made a decent argument for why they did.
     
  7. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    France
    I have been using OFP for almost 10 years, and I love it.
    in the past few days I have been reading a lot about VPN and DnsCrypt.

    Before dealing with DnsCrypt, I decided to install Unbound, which is supposed to act as the DNS resolver software. Everything went fine, but Outpost keeps telling me about some fragmentation attacks, which never happened before. Is there any way to make it stop and allow both OFP and Unbound to work alongside each other without those pop-ups ? Thanks a lot for your help.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Overkill
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    735
  2. jhr76
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    1,495