Outpost Firewall Pro 7.0 (3371.514.1232) - Final

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by AvinashR, May 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi ellison, I located the .ini file and opened it. I saw no mention of Web Control in the documentation. Nor did I find the phrase "EnableContentHandler". The contents of the .ini file is typed and any changes would have to be done by deleting words and re-typing other words, as in this case type true. I mention this to make sure I'm in the right place. There is only one .ini file in OP. Can you give any help on this?
     
  2. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    It's working for me , but I've noticed slowdown while browsing, so I disabled it the same way I enabled it.
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Looking at my post above, am I doing something wrong? Did I deviate from what you did? Thanks in advance.
     
  4. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I would love to help you and I read what you said first time, but sorry I don't understand what you are saying.
    All I did was following steps from that article, it's easy and well explained.
    Locate machine.ini (Agnitum directory), edit it, search strings provided in article (it will find it, ok? :p )
    change false to TRUE, save it and that's it :)
    If course, first disable self-protection and then exit from application.
    Just follow those steps and you'll be fine .
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    OK Thanks:) I was successful and have my Web Control back.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2010
  6. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Its working. im having some mouse stucks.:doubt:
    Any1 noticed that??
     
  7. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,538
    I too am curious if this is still an issue. Anyone?
     
  8. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,901
    On Windows 7 32bit with Roxio's BackonTrack Instant Restore, sandbox.sys causes BSODs.

    Panagiotis
     
  9. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Have you been having any issues with both or just one of the mentioned drivers (afw.sys or sandbox.sys) regarding the Outpost not loading one or two of those drivers when entering Windows session?

    A lot of users were having this problem with 2009 version. I had it too. It was necessary to constantly uninstall and reinstall it. And, even this wasn't 100% guaranteed that would make it work fine again. I gave up using it after a while.
     
  10. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,901
    Only "sandbox.sys" gives problems with Instant Restore.
    It BSODs right away (about 5 seconds after booting). I do not have even the chance to see the 7 animated boot logo. :argh:

    Other than that works like a charm.:p

    Panagiotis
     
  11. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    The main reason for why i dumped OP is the fact that i have to manually delete within OP the remains of the programs that are no longer in my laptop.Why the heck the developers didn't think of this feature?Back to OA pro.
     
  12. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    It actually happens that, last year, while in touch with Agnitum support team due to the problems I previously related, I suggest them just that, so that we wouldn't have to manually delete every and each entry. It was a pretty damn good suggestion; maybe they thought differently.

    You know, little details such as this one make all the difference in the acceptance of a product.
     
  13. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Exactly,and i really don't understand why the developers didn't take your suggestion more seriously,and implemented it....another reason to stay away from OP.And yes,these damn little details....
    PS.Comodo has a "purge" function,OA "only deleted"...The OP developers are blind??
     
  14. tekkaman

    tekkaman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    I have a question. I just installed the trial. This new version doesn't have the antispyware component?
     
  15. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,417
    Location:
    USA
    Devil in the details.........Is it true that the latest version will not allow the user to manually remove anything in the application list ?
     
  16. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes,it have it.Pay attention when installed it,to check both options if you want,Web Control and Antispyware.On the other hand,if your Outpost was installed without Antispyware option,it means that it auto-disabled this option because of the incompatibility with your AV installed,as Outpost consider that you are already covered with that protection.

    No,it isn't.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  17. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You misunderstood me.

    I meant that we only can manually removed them. It would be great to have a purge button to remove all invalid entries, as in removing all entries from processes no longer in the system, for example when uninstalling an application.

    I even think that such process should be done automatically. Outpost should from time to time verify if such processes still exist and them keep them or remove them accordingly.
     
  18. FirePost

    FirePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    I would hate for Outpost to automatically do this from time to time. I have applications I sometimes run then remove and an automatc removed "deleted" would force me to redo rules.

    Now, if there was a button to push that said "These applications seem to be missing. Do you wish to remove related settings?", and a nice list to pick which to remove and ignore, that would be a great feature.
     
  19. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,417
    Location:
    USA
    OK.thanks...I did understand what you posted and it brought to mind something I thought I had read somewhere; that no longer could unneeded apps appearing in the list be removed manually. Incidentally, I for one would rather have manual control and not auto. A purge button option would be fine.
     
  20. tekkaman

    tekkaman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Thanks I just noticed in this version you have to select expert mode to be able to select what to install. I think antispyware is easy enough to install in simple mode but oh well.
     
  21. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Honestly,i wouldn't rely so much on the Antispyware feature,at least IMO.When i had installed OP,i've always unchecked this feature.Because i'm covered already with MBAM pro or SAS pro,and....when the license expires and you don't want to renew it,bye bye updates.:D ...but the other features remain.:thumb: (oh,no auto updates for the software too)
     
  22. tekkaman

    tekkaman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    169

    Actually I've seen it block some nasties. It's not so bad. I still use Mbam manually of course just in case.
     
  23. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Well,it's your choice.And if not slows down your browsing...although for me it was a little slow down with Avast home,and as i said,without the Antispyware feature,only the Web control enabled.
     
  24. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    526
    Location:
    Wallachia
    The version 7 adds some nice features ,but it has some strangeness ,at least in XP 32 bit.
    1.It pops up to much ,usless pop ups i would say eventually many times the same
    2.The network filtering seems to be like in version 6
    - i still get atacks from my DNS even if ii add them in the exclusions
    - the firewall doesnt seems to "see" all the trafic.If i install Zone Alarm Pro and use simialr rules for X-Fire for example i see more blocked trafic in the logs in ZA than in Outpost like some blocked ip s are not showen or like some trafic is not intercepted ,using the maximum loging in both.
    3.The Web filtering module seems slower than the version 6
    4.This version adds some kind of lag in desktop even with Web and Antispyware modules off.
    5.It is not specified if OP7 protects against the matousec hated "thingy" :)

    Having in mind that OP 7 and ZAP seem both to heavy for my P2 X3 720 BE+4Gigs+SB750 i have to go back to Sunbelt Firewall ,too bad they did not made a W7 version.
    The performance practically is unacceptable sorry to say it and as network filtering OP 4 still seem better even if it puts 20 miliseconds in gaming.
    Doesnt looked optimized for me ,though seems stable at least.
     
  25. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    so screencapture blocking, when?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.