Outpost Firewall Pro 7.0 (3371.514.1232) - Final

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by AvinashR, May 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    It's good to finally see that they listen to their paid customers and made available an easy way to block the automatic phone-home to download their "Agnitum news". :rolleyes: I even got a pop up saying "Agnitum news downloaded", in case i had missed them. Nice touch of class!

    I also particularly liked that while during installation i UNCHECKED the partecipation to the Agnitum community, once i installed, the partecipation was again checked.

    The PC feels more sluggish, but overall seems better than v.6.
     
  2. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,603
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone care to put together a Pros & Cons list, as a past version comparative.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2010
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,018
    for my excuse - i didnt wrote some word of that - i used directly the asterix *** ;)
    the bad word filter didnt fit here, was me. insert "blame" if you like...


    @falkor
    ye "brother" - praise the lord - Halleluja :D

    Uninstalling older - may wise if settings will be kept.
    otherwise export settings and import them again after fresh install.
    maybe hayc59 can advise us.

    btw some backup/image might helpful if the upgrade fails.
     
  4. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Generally speaking upgrading over the older versions normally works very well. However, I never like to upgrade from any beta software as bugs may stay behind. A clean uninstall is always best there. I also prefer to do a clean install for major version changes just because of the you never know factor. I'd rather not have any remnants left behind to cause trouble even though upgrading over an old version generally is trouble free. It's easy enough to bring back the configuration file from a backup folder so you lose none of your settings. Even there, on major version changes, I redo my configuration on the principle that I'm fixing any mistakes I might have made and just a general review. Really there's quite a bit of latitude on how upgrading should be done. I've come to prefer the safest route even though that may take a little more time. I think in the long run it may save time.
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,018
    well said :)
     
  6. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,353
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I detest "sluggish"!!!

    On a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being "fast like before OP" & 1 being "dead stopped") where would you put your computer's "sluggishness index" when running OP?
     
  7. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Manny,

    Are you aware whether or not the issues many Outpost users were having with drivers afw.sys and sandbox.sys have been fixed?
     
  8. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Brumm...I basically do the exact same thing as Manny
    a little more time consuming but better in the end ;)
     
  9. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I don't know how relevant is my screenshot,but Outpost passed CLT for me.And PC Flank too.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    223
    Location:
    Romania
    Can you tell me what OS and what settings for Outpost? Thanks. :)
    Mine is Seven x64 and Outpost with Firewall-Rules Wizard and in Advanced is Block most at both settings, Anti Leak Protection is Advanced and System and App guard both enabled.
     
  11. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    911
    Wish I could d/l it but it seems impossible grrr

    link dead or?
     
  12. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    223
    Location:
    Romania
    Try here. It seems that Agnitum webpages have some problems now.
     
  13. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    911
    Just downloading from agnitum.

    thanks
     
  14. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Well, sluggishness, is also something subjective. But i am very sensitive to that, being a freak about lightness.

    For explorer speed (navigating around folders), i 'd say 7 out of 10 (which is not bad for firewall with HIPS, but i 've seen better too in OA Free).
    For browsing speed 8-9 out of 10.

    By 10 i intend my current setup which is superlight, as Avast hardly every uses the hard disk.

    As soon as i installed Outpost i got a clear slowness in opening folders. That's the price for HIPS... You 're more secure, certainly, but all those modules do have a price.


    On the other hand, on CPU usage under heavy load (p2p), there is an improvement, as now it takes 1-2% of CPU on my quad core, while it's running at 800Mhz with Cool N Quiet. Version 6 was doing worse in that. Of course then you have Win7 Firewall Control which stays at 0% most of the time, with rare peeks to 1%. But no HIPS...
     
  15. Leach

    Leach Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    84
    Seems like I experienced some ("unproved") web slow-donw while using OPF with a full version of MBAM with IP blocking on. Disabling web filtering within OPF cured the issue, while unchecking the MBAM' IP-blocking didn't. "Unprooved" is because I'm not sure whether on not it was a FW or some net instability but I encountered this a couple of times. And a veeery long uninstalling of OPFW took about two minutes.
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I installed my copy of V7 and find that the Web Control is missing from the line up on the main My Security page, and the Web Control along with ID Blocker page is greyed out. I posted this on the OP forum, and it appears I'm not the only one. They better get this fixed and release an update with Web Control re- established. :mad:
     
  17. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    I WANT FREE VERSION v7.............:'(
     
  18. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I'm on 7 ultimate x86 with exactly the same settings as you.Maybe bugs with x64 systems? o_O
     
  19. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Hey Nik,i can give you a key valid for aprox 70 days.After the license expires,all the features remain,only the auto updates are gone.;)
     
  20. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Happened to me too.Based on my experience,when i had installed NOD32 or KAV,and i installed after Outpost, Web control is grey out and not active,because of the "third parties software", Outpost consider an incompatibility.Try to install FIRST Outpost Fw,and after your current AV.I bet it works.I use too Avast 5.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  21. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    That occurred to me too. I'm using Avast! V5 which has Web Shield, and I thought OP might have seen that and de-activated its Web Control because it might be redundant. I De-activated the Web Shield in Avast and re- installed OP, but no change. I'll keep your suggestion in mind. I'll bet it will work too. I have thought in the past when running OP V6 if the two web control/shields weren't too much of a good thing.
    My complaint is that OP should leave it up to me.
     
  22. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Wow Thanks Friend. Can u plz send me a pm.:D
     
  23. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I forgot to mention that Avast is installed with all shields.As you,i don't know how much it helps me,the OP Web shield,but i like to have a software fully functional,and if i see some problems,i decide what i have to deactivate or not.
    PS.Your signature..(not about security :D ).....LOOOL
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  24. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Check your PM Nik.Let me know if it works.
     
  25. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    You don't need to reinstall avast or outpost to enable the web control
    http://www.agnitum.com/support/kb/article.php?id=1000253&lang=en
    ellison
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.