Outpost 8.0(4164.652.1856) Final

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Rules, Dec 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    i want to use Outpost Pro trial on one of my PCs
    what happens when the trial is over?
    i mean which features are disabled after the trial?
     
  2. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    This is a factual error made by the reviewer as I pointed out in the review's comment section. Auto-learn will only make rules for apps that are known to Agnitum and rated as Trusted and/or Normal. You could leave on for a week if you were so inclined and it would still only make rules for know apps. Anything else and the user is notified.
     
  3. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Does it matter? Do you really want to use a crippled security program after the trial is over.
     
  4. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    If you have KAV on your PC's why mess with OP trials? 2 learning curves?:doubt:
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,038
    I think vectorfool intended to try outpost on another computer.:cool:
    Although one of the above comments seems to suggest the outpost free suite is "crippled"..is this the case.?o_O
     
  6. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    All the points seem from KAV users:doubt:

    My point was why bother with a second learning curve... unless you are wanting to test products one against the other here?

    The point on crippled was saying if the "trial" is over why continue with it?

    User should use the trial to see if it suits them or not then decide.


    Expecting it to continue as if they have paid and yet have not make no sense to me.


    There are freebies so go to those...

    The PC Mag had "factual" errors but they are media right why would we be shocked?:D
     
  7. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    508
    OK will i will test again in a clean VM and check the settings for auto-learn mode.
    thanks
     
  8. Kayracc

    Kayracc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    96

    This is what i saw aswell, and is why i have left autolearn enabled, i'm sure it lowers my security a 'tiny' bit, but as i've gotten older, i've wanted to spend less time on things such as creating specific rules for myself.....and is also why i bought a lifetime license(less to deal with :p)
     
  9. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    The free suite is crippled in the sense that not all the pro features are available. While the main functionality remains an example of something being crippled is the logs. You only see blocked entries instead of all connections. That's what I mean by being crippled. However, I wasn't responding to that. Once a trial version is over it doesn't turn over to the free suite. Once a trial version of any software is over it's time to get rid of it or buy it, not keep going with it. If he want to try it on another computer then it's not a problem to download it and do so.
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,062
    After reading all the good things about outpost and trialling it for myself I decided to purchase outpost security suite lifetime license for 3 computers.

    This is the first time I have tried outpost. I do remember people saying that virusbuster engine isn't very good but I will always have second opinion scanners and I am sure it will improve.
     
  11. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    VirusBuster is "good enough" - there are a number of other layers in the product that would protect you from things missed by the virus/antimalware engine itself. your machine is well protected w/outpost.
     
  12. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Is anyone else experiencing this version being a prick? I disabled removable media protection, because I run some softs from my USB pretty often, and after installing this version I've found that after a while it enables removable media protection by itself. I have to set it to minimal on this as the default setting keeps blocking stuff from the USB
     
  13. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,629
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    :D
    Quite the opposite its acts more like a beautiful women to me
    I love it :thumb:
     
  14. Yanick

    Yanick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    269
    Have you tried to add password for changing settings in Outpost? Might help?

    Been using Outpost Firewall Pro in many machines and many OS's and never had that kind of problem. Now days using OP Security Suite Pro, she's as classy lady as Hayc59 said :D
     
  15. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    I just turned it off and test what you observed. I'll report back in a few days.

    However, aside from a little slow Wizard popups during the initial install of an app this version is working very well for me.
     
  16. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    I've been running with USB protection turned off for about a month now on Windows 7 x64 and it hasn't turned itself back on.
     
  17. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    Hi, guys. I've installed OP Pro 8.0 for the first time since two years ago and I'm really impressed. It is working pretty flawlessly for me for a couple of days now. But I'm finding it a bit hard to decide which AV will get along with it on WIN 8 32 bit. Currently I'm with the built-in Windows Defender and it's nice and light but based on my own observations it isn't very good at detection, often lagging behind with adding samples (VT shows 25 and over Avs detect a sample and Defender won't). So could you share which AV are you using with Outpost on WIN 8?
     
  18. Circe

    Circe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    Location:
    Cheshire, England
    I am not using windows 8 but I have used Outpost firewall Pro for a few years now and I do not use an antivirus. I use on-demand scanners such as Hitman Pro & Malwarebytes. I set the firewall policy to block most anti-leak set to Maximum , this is my set up and I have not been infected, I use IE as my browser. I except some people do like an anti-virus whilst using Outpost firewall Pro, I have read good things about Avast and Outpost Pro as a combo.
     
  19. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    Thank you!
     
  20. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,629
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    I am currently running Outpost Suite so dont need and AV
    but prior to that I had avast! FREE and it worked real nice in conjunction with ;)
     
  21. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    I also would use the Suite if I had a license for it, much simpler. Right now I'm trying Dr.Web AV with Outpost Firewall. So far it's OK. Will see.
     
  22. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Not to spoil the party, BUT if you have a sandbox and run a hardened browser with HOST file filled you don't likely need an AV free or not.

    Have the 2 way FW OP is fine and you are good to go.
     
  23. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    I agree with you but I still think an AV is necessary if not for me, still for the people I send files to or write to their USB sticks. There have to be some control over files downloaded.
     
  24. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    If the files you send are "clean" and they will be, then the receiptent will receive clean and and only write dirty files to their sticks IF they add the virus in their PC setup. That is NOT my problem but theirs.

    You could always send the file encrypted and then when these are placed on their stick they will be clean and unencryted will be still clean even in a "dirty" pc.

    A selfish attitude I know.
     
  25. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I should have mentioned that I'm running Windows 8 Pro while experiencing removable media problems, when it enables itself again after a while after I have disabled it. It doesn't happen at once, it can be a few days
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.