Outpost 8.0(4164.652.1856) Final

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Rules, Dec 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,628
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    feandur Hello
    Its a great thing and enjoy! :)
     
  2. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    I am so glad I bought the lifetime license of Outpost Firewall Pro, it is working amazingly well and provides some interesting features that I ended up liking a lot.

    One of the best purchases I've made in 2013.
     
  3. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi RADEON0101 :

    Are you still on Win 7 ? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2167868&postcount=23

    Did you get a chance to try out how Outpost Pro works on the Win 8 platform?

    I've just bought a small ultrabook with Win 8. Original intention was to reformat it and put Mint 13 on it. Think I might keep Win 8 now and either go with NIS that it came with, or use the life time licence I just bought for Outpost Pro 8.

    What's your view on firewall?

    I see you are with Avast free 7...is it working well with Outpost Pro 8 ? Is that a good combo to go with? During the custom install of Avast were there any components you recommend not installing - eg, the web shield?

    Thanks,

    - cheers,
    feandur
     
  4. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Yes, still running on Windows 7, I don't plan on going back to Windows 8 for awhile.

    But, anyways...

    The firewall is fantastic, it is extremely customizable but also works right out of the box (Especially if you're not comfortable about tweaking with thing's too much). I think it's powerful, but a very well balanced firewall for both novice and advanced users alike.

    The Interface is also very clean and can be easily navigated through with no problems.

    The most unique features that I just love having, that most other firewalls do not offer are:

    Entertainment Mode: Entertainment mode is like a gamer mode setting, but instead of manually setting it to that (Like in other firewalls), the firewall automatically recognizes that you're in a full screen application and sets the rules for you, without your interaction. I dunno, I thought this was an interesting feature.

    Anti-Banner: It's somewhat like an ADMuncher/ADBlock component built into the firewall. The concept is exactly the same, but without custom listings (It uses it's own unique ad blocking mechanism/list). I have yet to see this in other firewalls, so it makes me appreciate this firewall more just knowing that they took the time to add something like this to the mix.

    The firewall also has other great features like:
    Self-protection
    Auto-Learn mode
    The Firewall component
    Attack detection
    Anti-Leak protection
    System guard
    Application guard
    Removable media protection
    Web control
    Etc..............

    All modules configurable

    As for how I have it configured, the only thing's I changed were

    Change the Firewall policy to Block Most (Via right click on system tray icon)

    and...

    Changed the Anti-Leak protection module from Low to Optimal (Via left pane settings, Advanced settings, Anti-Leak under Proactive Protection and then set the slider.

    As far as avast! Antivirus and it's compatibility with Outpost, I have absolutely no interference with the two...they run absolutely great with each other.

    Plus...

    All shields are live and active on my Avast with no problems

    The only thing I did do, was add Avast to the exclusions option in Outpost.
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,038
    The more i read about this program the more i want it but i cannot purchase online.:'( :'( :'(
    Such is life.:)
     
  6. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Why notÉ. That is how I got it.
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,038
    I dont have any cards to buy online with...be a few months or so until i can.
    Im from the uk and this product is not available in the stores.Ive seen a lot of praise for outpost and it looks a good program.
    Im perfectly happy with kaspersky at the moment but would have considered giving outpost a try when my license for KIS expires but its not to be.
    Nevermind lol.:D :D
     
  8. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    Thank you so much RADEON0101...superb answer! Brilliant!

    Everything I need to go forward with.


    - cheers,
    feandur
     
  9. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Sure, not a problem...glad I was able to help:thumb:
     
  10. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Ok, changed and beefed up a few of the settings around, hopefully it holds up for awhile without being too aggressive.

    This is what I have as my current configuration:

    General:
    Alerts – All boxes are checked by default, except “File & Folder Lock events”, I clicked the check box to enable it.

    Firewall: Changed it to “Block Most”
    Attack Detection - I changed Attack Detection level to “Maximum”, Under Actions - I also clicked the check box to enable “Also block intruder subnet” .

    Proactive Protection:

    Anti-Leak – I changed Anti-Leak protection level to “Advanced”

    This is what my settings summary looks like as well....
    OPFWP.jpg

    What do you think, is this configuration too aggressive or pretty darn good?

    I'm asking since I'm a new Outpost user.
     
  11. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    508
    the only thing you could disable is perhaps the auto learn mode,from permanent to a day,so that outpost learns behavior of all the programs,and after that it will let you know if there is any new program trying to launch...this has and advantange of detecting any suspicious behavior, disadvantage is more pop-ups.
     
  12. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Ok, I went ahead and made the changes you suggested. The only other thing I had to change was turning Block Most off to the Rules Wizard setting as my firewall policy, or else I wouldn't have been able to change the learning behavior.

    OPFWP2.jpg
     
  13. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    508
    Be sure to change the rules wizard back to block most once the 24 hrs expire.
    What i did when i first installed OFP all those years ago was to turn auto learn for an hour and opened my most used programs,once that was done i changed it to block most immidiately.
     
  14. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Thanks, I appreciate it

    Definitely some great suggestions :thumb:

    One question though, once I go back to Block Most, will Auto-Learn show as Enabled after that or Disabled?
     
  15. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    508
    Auto-Learn will be disabled automatically.
     
  16. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Ahhh ok, so once it's red/disabled then leave it like that....Got it:thumb:

    Thanks for all your help
     
  17. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,628
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    Lookin good mate!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2013
  18. Kayracc

    Kayracc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    96
    doesn't autolearn just let outpost go online to check for pre-defined rules for programs?

    and the pre-defined rules need to be approved by an agnitum staff member?

    so autolearn isn't what it implies, or am i mistaken?
     
  19. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Thanks:thumb:
     
  20. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    508
    Auto-Learn mode is the mode where Outpost will automatically presume any application that you are running is a good application and will learn its rules even if its a spyware.
    The one that you are talking about is actually under improvenet column under settings and will say automatically create rule for applications signed by trusted vendors.
     
  21. Kayracc

    Kayracc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    96
    how sure are you?, i've gotten prompts from a few pieces on my computer that outpost didn't know about

    and they leave it permanently enabled by default, it would seem like a bad business decision to leave that enabled if it just trusted everything
     
  22. kenw

    kenw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    Brighton, Colorado
    I wonder if anyone has had a problem install on a 32 bit Win 7.

    This is more about OSS. Myself and others have a problem with the 32 bit V8.

    On two net books I had to restore an image as V8 totally screwed the net books.
     
  23. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    This is not quite right. The rule builder logic in the product is complex and known to the vendor only not to users like us. Best to use the support site forum for this type of query. Here is a quote from the OP knowledge base that shows how they determine the safety of the execuatables.

    Below is the logic of the default settings of automatic rules creation in Outpost Firewall.


     
  24. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    508
    @Kayracc and @Escalader

    It is something that I have written to Agnitum about ever since the version 8 came about,they will issue an update regarding the same I expect.
    The Auto-Learn mode in versions prior to version 8 were never meant to be enabled more than a week maximum,you can downgrade an check for yourself,this is something that they have introduced in version 8 which is I think to reduce the user pop-ups.

    This suspicion about Auto-learn mode came to light in lots of internal testing that I did and confirmed in this review here.

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2414113,00.asp
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013
  25. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    To clear this up I posted this thread over at the OP user forum.

    My own expereince was not this approve all execuatbles. I ran for a few days in Auto-Learn mode then downloaded my own rule set.

    Then I went through these again and checked out every rule.

    Please post your question to OP support and some of your test results as images. We need verification.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.