Outpost 4 - resources

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Durad, Oct 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    Just got special offer 50% off from Agnitum for Outpost Pro.

    I have machine with Win2000pro, 750Mhz, 512Mb of ram that I am using for business.
    Will it show down this machine a lot?
     
  2. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Outpost runs just fine along with NOD32. If I were you, I would grab that chance immediately.
     
  3. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Hi Durad,

    Outpost do a lot of logging activities and when used with an antivirus or antispyware, it is better to exclude the Outpost folder from realtime scanning by the antivirus or antispyware. This can prevent high CPU usage.
     
  4. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    Installed demo but it slow down PC a lot (NOD32 installed too). I switch back to Jetico.
     
  5. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Yeah outpost can use quite a bit of resources. I find it best to turn off some of the plug ins that i don't need and the logging feature which i also do not need, this seems to help speed up outpost somewhat.

    For an older computer outpost is probably not the best solution, i would suggest you try kerio 2.1.5. Its extremely light on resources and is a good firewall.
     
  6. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Very True in my case. OutPost is on the family pc while kerio is on my pc. OutPost was on my PC and you could nearly hear it groan under the strain. :ouch: While it is now on family pc it works much better and so does everthing else. Snap snap zip zip ;)
     
  7. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    If you run just the firewall component with the additional features turned off it runs quite light.
     
  8. TeknO

    TeknO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    147
    Location:
    Istanbul, TURKEY
  9. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Yes, but on the family machine I would like to keep at least some on. I do have three in the group turned off. I really sometimes wonder how effective the AntiSpyware one is? :doubt: Maybe that should be off too.
     
  10. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Yeah keep the plugins that you think you need. For me i only use the attack detection plugin, all the others are no use for me. Turn off the logging function if you don't need it. If you have other spyware protection then turn off outposts spyware plugin.
     
  11. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    teh antispyware is supposedly based on Agnitum's Tauscan.

    also check out this thread: How does OP4 AntiSpyware module stackup?
     
  12. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Thats interesting i wasn't aware is was based on tauscan but come to think of it, it makes sense. Outpost should be very good at detecting trojans then i guess seeing as tauscan is an anti-trojan app. I wonder how effective v4 is against spyware and whether it is sufficient protection on its own. Currently it has around 70,000+ signatures.
     
  13. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    the bigger question is whether u want/need antispyware.

    if you dont feel that Outpost's antispyware plugin is enough, just get a backup scanner like avg anti-spyware or superantispyware.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. jhr76
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    1,496
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.