Outpost 2 released

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by meneer, May 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    http://www.agnitum.com/products/outpost/
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You have to get up earlier to beat JacK ;) http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=9527

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I know: but this is the right place for it :)
     
  4. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    He even got the jump on root and stole his thunder :D.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=2638

    This however is the right place for any discussions on that release. ;)

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  6. Tinribs

    Tinribs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    England
    Anyone tried it yet? and any news on if they'll release a free version?
     
  7. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tinribs, I was wondering the same thing. I read one the Outpost forum that some person was having a problem with with a memory leak in V2. I haven't been back to the outpost forum sense this morning. I'm not sure if they helped that person or now.
     
  8. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Free: I would say within 30 days (that's when trial period for the Pro version is over)

    Memory leak: I suppose it is not due to OP. There have never in the beta testing period been a report of the kind.
     
  9. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well someone found a problem. :) I'm not sure if it's Outpost that causing it or not but heres the link.
    http://www.outpostfirewall.com/forum/showthread.php?s=f89c0e64deaa7f08afb2814b8010f7f0&threadid=7201
     
  10. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I hadn't noticed that before, but I just replied there.
    I also use TaskInfo 2003 and the toal memory usage shows 169 Megs. That is not actual usage, but assigned memory space is my first guess.
    When I do a control alt delete and check the total memory it is more like 17 Meg, not 169.
    My version 1 also showed the same usage. Believe me, if Outpost had a memory leak like that, my machine would not get to the internet, much less go anywhere. :D
     
  11. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hi root, I'm glad you cleared that up but I still had to post it. lol Do you know the VM used of Outpost Ver.2?
     
  12. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Hello Tinribs

     
  13. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    Depends on your system and running programs.

    About 30 mb on my system WinXP Pro with FTP and SMTP servers always running.

    Rgds,
     
  14. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    WOW. McAfee uses only 10mb of vm on my other system. and they say that's bulky lol
     
  15. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I think you will find a variety from user to user. Logging plays a big part, and application running are going to make a difference.
    I just took a pic of my memory usage now and will attach it.
    I've been online since about 3 PM.
    Not so bad, huh?
     

    Attached Files:

    • VM.gif
      VM.gif
      File size:
      15.5 KB
      Views:
      758
  16. Screen Shots., anyone? :eek:

    Also, will our Key work if we are a paid user? :D
     
  17. DavidH

    DavidH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX USA
    I don't come with screenshots, but I do come with potentially good news.

    All Version 1 keys should work for Outpost, even if they are expired (over one year old).
     
  18. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    OK I got an email about the new Outpost ver.2 and here's little something about the free ver.
    Users of Outpost Firewall Free 1.0 are strongly encouraged to
    significantly improve their protection with new version 2.0. Please note
    that an update for the free version will not be happening in the
    foreseeable future.

    Foreseeable future? wow sounds like they aren't making a free ver. Can anyone clear this up?
     
  19. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Last I heard from Mikhail, he said they did not anticipate dropping it entirely, but they do not know when they will get around to it.
     
  20. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks root. It' not a real big deal. I thought people would like to know what I found out.
     
  21. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Haven't been on that long since the re-start earlier, but here's what it's got at the moment:
     

    Attached Files:

  22. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Couldn't fit it all in one shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Lee

    Lee Guest

    It seem's that a free version will be out in 2004, or that's the reply I got from tech support.

    Lee o_O
     
  24. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    That's from Taskinfo, right Pete?
    That's what I was talking about earlier. There is no way Outpost is using 160 megabytes if memory real or imagined, so that must be some kind of allocated amount.
    I cannot find any information in Taskinfo about how they get their numbers.
    Lee, hard telling right now about a new free version. Still a lot of work going on with the Pro version.
     
  25. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Yes, root, that's from TI2002.

    The "Working set KB" is always what I go by. They sound somehow more related to reality.

    TI's "Help" file defines Virtual KB as:
    "Amount of memory (in kilobytes) mapped in address space of process: DLLs, main executable file, allocated memory etc." whereas

    Working set KB is defined as:
    "Amount of physical memory (in kilobytes) currently used by process."

    If you'll notice, "InMemKB" and "Working Set KB - Curr" are always the same.

    Perhaps even more interesting is Private KB, which is defined as
    "Amount of virtual memory (in kilobytes) owned by current process only. This memory is not shared with other processes."

    Don't get me started on this! :)

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.