Outlook files from personal folders disappear

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by woodentop, Nov 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    I am using NTFS too in all cases. I cannot confirm dennisthemenace9's statement yet, but it's at least highly probable that this happened in my case too.

    (The affected PCs are workstations in the small company of my father. The backup time is set to 8, 9 and 10 am respectively and the systems are always running at those times, usually. Since our employees never reported that Outlook does not work anymore all of a sudden, the backup schedule that deleted the AppData files may very well have been a missed backup, due to the stations being turned off in the holidays at the scheduled backup times.)
     
  2. dennisthemenace9

    dennisthemenace9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    103
    keep it at the top
     
  3. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Why?
    'Acronis_Support'-member only find threads which are 14-20 days old.
    I you renew the date anymore they never find this.
     
  4. dennisthemenace9

    dennisthemenace9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    103
    For those looking to buy AT2009 so they can be aware of this issue before they purchase. I will not repeat my reason for keeping this thread alive and always near the top. All future posts here that do not help in this matter (by my view) will be ignored.
     
  5. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    If everybody do this what you are doing here we would have 100 'onTop'-threads :rolleyes:

    Are you a so important person? :thumbd:


    And three thread for one topic is too much, right?
    ATI 2009 deletes files ?
    Problems with Acronis True Image Home 2009
    This thread

    Perhaps the MODs should close two of them...

    BTW:
    There is a 'Search'-function for (new) members. They will find your threads if they want.
     
  6. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    By definition, ALL future posts here, regardless of their content, DO help in that matter, but will NOT necessarily be ignored by the moderators/admins and thus one may shoot themselves in the foot.;)
     
  7. Paul0521

    Paul0521 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    I'm interested in this issue as well - I think that I may have had the same problem.

    I was clearing out some space on my c: drive, and resized the main partition using Acronis Disk Director. There was some problem in the resizing, and the machine refused to boot. I tried to restore an image that I had just made using ATI 11, and that failed too. I think that the issue is that I am using the Intel Matrix RAID (ICH9) to mirror (RAID 1) my main data drive (D:), and ATI did not like the RAID controller.

    So, I was forced to do a clean install of all of my software. When I was done, I started went to look for the .pst file in Outlook 2003, and it was gone. After a few minutes of panic I managed to recover a version from a second backup that I have on another external hard drive (I've now started keeping three versions of all of my critical files, just for situations like this).

    I cannot be 100% sure that ATI caused the problem, but from the sounds of this thread, it sounds like it may be the case. I could not figure out how the .pst file could have possibly disappeared. Perhaps this is the reason.
     
  8. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    I finally got my full licenses and tried it again, but this time only on one workstation.
    • 2009-01-05, 17:00: created new backup task:
      - backup of the whole disk
      - differential (1 full backup after 4 differential backups)
      - backup location is a windows share
      - backup is set to run at 10:00 am on Monday through Friday
      - I did not activate "Run when missed"
      - I did not activate any file exclusions

      I started the first backup manually - backup successful, all files in AppData still there.

    • 2009-01-06, 12:48: I started the workstation and triggered the backup task manually (since it wasn't running at 10:00 am). A differential backup was created, no problems occurred, all files in AppData still there.

    • 2009-01-07, 10:00: The backup started automatically at 10:00 am. A second differential backup was created, no problems occured, all files in AppData still there.

    I will continue to monitor this over the next 2 weeks (as good as I can, since I will not always be around). So far, everything went fine, maybe this problem is indeed caused by "run when missed".
     
  9. dennisthemenace9

    dennisthemenace9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    103
    I also removed the "run when missed." I will know by next Monday what happens.
     
  10. Cindy62707

    Cindy62707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Hello all,

    I have been following this post with GREAT interest. I am a new user to ATI Home 2009 and am having a lot of problems with it. I stumbled across this thread when searching for answers to my own issues. (If anyone has time I do have a couple of other problems posted that have not received a reply yet...)

    I have no idea if my pst files are being backupped or not as I have no idea how to check it. I am too nervous to test out the backup by doing a restore when my computer isn't having a present problem. If files are truely missing from the backups then doing a restore with a bad backup will wipe out my good files on my internal hard drive.

    So my question here is "How do I know if the AppData files are all there without doing a restore?" I tried looking at one of the backups one time but it gave me some sort of message about not being able to view that type of file extension.

    Thank you in advance for your time,
    Cindy
     
  11. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Cindy62707 - did you make an image or a file and folders back up?

    If you made an image then you can mount the image - this means it'll show up as another hard drive and then you can search it exactly as you would a physical drive - to mount, click on OPERATIONS and select MOUNT, find your image on your drive and click and away you go!

    If you made a files and folders back up then you should be able to right click on the TIB file and select Explore. You might be able to do this with the image as well, but with images I prefer mount, and Explore won't work on my system as I use a 3rd party file manager.

    Colin
     
  12. Cindy62707

    Cindy62707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Mmmm...I have no idea which I made

    this worked great

    and tonight this worked too...go figure when I couldn't get it to allow me access before

    But the great mystery (and perhaps I should move this to my thread of my disk being full after just a week of backups)...is that every backup of both drives not only has sequential numbered backups but inside each sequential is ALL days that the incremental ran. NO wonder my external hard drive filled up so quickly...I will see if I can do a screen print and attach it here so you can see what I mean...never mind...the attachment option won't allow a file extension of .doc...so I hope I have explained what I am seeing. Is there another way to get a print screen in here?

    And each and every one of those backups so show a pst file

    Cindy
     
  13. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Assuming you don't have an image manipulation software IRFAN, you'll need a two step process.

    1. Have the image on the desktop -

    2. press the CTRL + PrtScr buttons.

    3. Open up Paint

    4. Edit \ Paste

    5. Save as JPG

    6. attach to thread and post!

    Colin
     
  14. Cindy62707

    Cindy62707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Here is the print screen of the directory with just a partial opening of what is in each backup...it is the same in every sequentially numbered backup.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    I believe the problem is that the pst files have been deleted from the hard drive when an image has been created. Apparantly they are present in the image file.

    If your pst files have been deleted from your hard drive your emails would not be seen in Outlook
     
  16. Cindy62707

    Cindy62707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    75

    Deleted from which hard drive (the internal one or the backup one)? Do you mean they are present in the image file but not restored to the internal hard drive?

    Also, looking at the print screen...is this normal to have all days of backup in Each and Every sequential backup. For example: My BackupD has December 23, 24, 25, and 26 backups. My BackupD2 also has December 23, 24, 25, and 26 backups. Same for My BackupD3, and on and on.

    I would have thought that MY BackupD would have had the 23rd's, My BackupD2 would have included the 24th's, My BackupD3 would have been the 25th's, etc.

    Cindy
     
  17. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Well, bad news everyone, it happened again :(. Everything in Application Data got deleted again (except Microsoft\Forms\RefEdit.exd, that's the only thing left).

    Backup on the 8th went fine again and I think the files were still present after that backup (I couldn't check, but the employee didn't say anything about Outlook not working for example). The files probably went missing on the 9th, yesterday.

    There was indeed something different about that backup process. Due to an unfortunate incident, the network stopped working on the evening the day before (during cleaning of the office the power adapter of a switch was accidentally removed ;)). The location of the backup is on the file server, on a windows share, therefore ATIH simply couldn't do a backup for this day (network was "fixed" afterwards). Accordingly, the log says "Error writing the file. [...]".


    I can't be sure of course, but it seems the Application Data content got deleted for some reason, when the backup failed (for a simple reason).


    I really, really hope this gets fixed as soon as possible. I will open a Support Ticket about this.



    Another weird thing: even though the backup yesterday was unsuccessful, the log calendar still shows green for "successful".
     
  18. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    I believe that the whole of the files in "Application Data" gets deleted in certain circumstances from your boot drive (internal). If you read the posts by dennisthemenace9 and Spooky you will see what the circumstances are.
     
  19. Doug_B

    Doug_B Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    Just a thought. For those having this problem, are you sure that these files are actually deleted / not present on the source disk anymore, or is it possible that they are not accessible to the applicable user login anymore for some reason? I am not well versed on NTFS / Windows and file permissions, so I don't know if this is even a possibility, but the scenario of a missed automated backup that then is triggered after a later reboot and possibly starting before a user logged in suggested such a possibility. Again, I don't know much in this area so am unsure if there's a way to check this. For example, can one boot to another OS (e,g,. Linux or another Windows install with the relevant partition still visible) to view files that may not be viewable within the original install due to altered permission settings? I don't know. I would think that careful scrutiny of used disk space before and after could help (using multiple methods, including those outside Windows), and with pst files usually being large, such changes should be noticeable.

    Hopefully someone with more knowledge in this area can chime in as to whether this represents a possibility. If so, I wouldn't think that ATI is off the hook, though.

    Doug
     
  20. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    No, the files and folders are in fact deleted from the hard disk, not just hidden or inaccessible by the current user (if they were hidden, they'd still be visible through "Show all files and folders" and if they were just inaccessible, they'd still be visible).

    And btw., why would ATI be off the hook in your scenario? If ATIH would accidentally change the user permissions of a file during backups, so that the user which owns those files originally would have no access anymore, it would have been ATI's fault, since it changed the permissions. Anyway your scenario is not realistic, since ATI uses the login information of the user. Also this scenario doesn't apply to the problem, since I (unfortunately) ruled out the "run when missed" theory.
     
  21. Doug_B

    Doug_B Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    OK, thanks for the feedback; it was a shot. And btw, I stated that I wouldn't think that ATI was off the hook in that scenario.

    Doug
     
  22. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Sorry, misread something there :)
     
  23. dennisthemenace9

    dennisthemenace9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    103
    Spooky since you "ruled out the run when missed theory" did you also remove the check mark for not backing up TIB files etc? I was really hoping the first theory would fix it but I did those two things. I will know what happens Monday.
     
  24. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Yes, I did not activate any exclusions at all.
     
  25. dennisthemenace9

    dennisthemenace9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    103
    Then I think I'm going to have to give up on ATI2009. Either go back to AT10 or ATI11 or use another program. I can't have this problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.