os selector with vista

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by reno2474, Apr 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reno2474

    reno2474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    hello newbie here. I am using OSS version10 build 2160 trying to have 2 copies of vista on seperate partitions and its is not recognizing my vista oem or the second version of vista on the cd that i am trying to install.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Try this file. I set it up with each Vista partition hidden from the other.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. reno2474

    reno2474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    thanks for the quick reply and sorry to sound ignorant but how do i use the file now
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Keep a copy of the original BOOTWIZ.OSS file and then use the attached file as the BOOTWIZ.OSS file. For example, rename the existing BOOTWIZ.OSS file to BOOTWIZ_OLD.OSS and then copy BOOTWIZ_OSS_RENO2474.TXT into the BOOTWIZ folder and rename the file to BOOTWIZ.OSS.

    If OSS isn't currently activated, reactivate it after you replace the file.
     
  5. reno2474

    reno2474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    i tried the new boot wiz but os selector still won't recognize vista
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Can you detail the process you used to setup the two Vista systems?

    Is your OEM Vista a standard Microsoft OEM DVD or a brand-name DVD? OSS will generally automatically find a Microsoft OEM installation.

    When you installed Vista on the second partition, was that partition Active and the other Vista partition hidden?

    Can you post the current BOOTWIZ.OSS file? OSS may have made changes to it if it didn't like something.
     
  7. reno2474

    reno2474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    my first vista is an oem came on the laptop (toshiba satelite)....i have not been able to install the 2nd vista yet cause i was going to use disk director and os selecter to do so. but it is not recognizing any installed operating system
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 13, 2009
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you removed the third partition? It's not showing up in the file.

    OSS has reset everything. In order to get the BOOTWIZ.OSS file, are you deactivating OSS or are you uninstalling it? If you uninstall it, the changed file won't be accepted by OSS.

    Basically, you need to install OSS, deactivate it (don't uninstall it), make a copy of the BOOTWIZ.OSS file and then post it. The changed version will then replace the existing file.

    However, a problem happens if you can't boot back into Windows when OSS is installed because OSS doesn't find Windows.

    Does your Vista DVD (if you have one) let you enter the Repair Mode and the Command Prompt? If so, you can deactivate OSS manually and setup Vista to boot without needing to run the OSS deactivation. You could also copy out the file from the Command Prompt (or using a WinPE CD) and make the changes without even needed to deactivate OSS.

    How are you obtaining the BOOTWIZ.OSS file?
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello reno2474 and MudCrab,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    reno2474 please send us your serial number for the program via PM and we will help you to obtain the latest build of our software which works with OEM versions of Vista.

    We are looking forward to hearing back from you at your earliest convenience.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Alexander,

    Vista has been out for a long time now. OEM versions of Vista have been out just as long. On top of that, your "latest" build that works with OEM versions of Vista has also been "available" for a long time. Why have you not released a REAL update that people can download from their accounts? Are you saving the "fixes" for DD 11?

    And, while we're on the subject, you really need to make the OS detection methods less strict. Just a standard edit of the BCD file is all it takes to make OSS go from detecting Vista to not detecting Vista. This is ridiculous since it's still Vista on the partition and detecting Vista's presence isn't that hard.

    Also, adding the ability to actually manually add an OS using the OSS interface/program would be nice (if you have noticed, your OS Detection Wizard is practically useless). Even if this feature were just as simple as telling OSS to: Boot this partition. There are many cases where OSS fails to properly detect an OS and if the user could easily setup a menu entry that would just boot to a partition, no detection would even be necessary. Other boot managers do this all the time.
     
  11. gogreenpower

    gogreenpower Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    i seem to be having the same problem, i have os selector activated and all i get is my linux os, vista is no where to be seen, i followed a few guides and tinkered a bit, and now i dont have anything in my C:/BOOTWIZ folder except a context.oss file, and i have show hidden files selected and unticked hide protected files. i can still boot through my linux grub but i want to try and get this sorted. any help would be appreciated
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If OSS is still installed and boots to the menu, you're not finding the correct BOOTWIZ folder. Make sure to check every partition.
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Unfortunately, Support Department is not responsible for builds releases. And it is not our decision when, why and how to release the update or new version. Furthermore, it's strictly prohibited by internal rules to discuss time frame of next releases. I'm absolutely agree with you, Sir, regarding OEM versions. It's confusing and not acceptable. I will report the situation to appropriate person and it will be considered. Regarding next version: yes, our Development Team is aware of the situation with major issues and of course they will test the product in order to avoid them. Unfortunately, we are unable to provide you with the exact information.

    Absolutely agree. This issue has been already reported to our Development Team, so probably it will be included to next release.

    Once again, thank you very much for the suggestions and for your feedback.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.