OS Selector will not Boot Vista

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Randarino, Nov 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Randarino

    Randarino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I have installed OS Selector on my main drive with WinXP and I have a second drive with Vista 32 installed.

    OS Selector sees Vista but when I click on Boot to Vista it goes to a dos screen with a cursor blinking in the upper left corner and that is all the farther it goes.

    I have a feeling that it is not finding the correct boot file in Vista......does anyone have a clue as to what the correct boot file would be and how to point OS Selector to it??

    Thanks for any help on this.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are you using the latest build of OSS (2,160)?

    Is the Vista installation isolated on its own drive (you could select it as the booting drive and boot into Vista)?

    How were you booting XP and Vista before you installed OSS?
     
  3. Randarino

    Randarino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Yes I am using the latest build.

    Yes....Vista is on it's own drive. To install it I had to disconnect the SATA cables from Win XP and install Vista on it's own drive. Then to get Win XP to boot I have to remove the cable from the Vista drive....boot into XP....then run OS Selector and let it find the Vista drive...which it does...but it just won't boot it.

    I hope the about paragraph explains your last question. I have to unplug the XP drive to run Vista.....lots of fun.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
  5. Randarino

    Randarino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Lets see if this works.

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <bootwiz>
    <disks>
    <id2201147456 bios_num="128" crc="976768058" real_bios_num="128" serial="301" size="976773167" />
    <id2200442298 bios_num="129" crc="976771079" real_bios_num="129" serial="22495" size="976773167" />
    <id1965971107 bios_num="130" crc="976768058" real_bios_num="130" serial="25327" size="976773167" />
    <id1648095681 bios_num="0" crc="976768058" real_bios_num="0" removed="1" serial="40042" size="976773167" />
    <id3254169403 bios_num="0" crc="976751993" real_bios_num="0" removed="1" serial="49079" size="976773167" />
    </disks>
    <cds>
    <cd id="386801578" md5_summ="368bdfd0da6c1952c6ad9b394b24de65" />
    </cds>
    <partitions>
    <id209013900 begin="63" crc="36865" disk="2201147456" fs="ntfs" number="1" serial="fa18b0fc63b0fc7c" size="976768002" type="7" />
    <id2715026818 begin="63" crc="54011" disk="1965971107" fs="ntfs" number="1" serial="e2e9dc07170b68e0" size="976768002" type="7" />
    <id3762238403 begin="63" crc="54011" disk="3254169403" fs="ntfs" number="1" serial="9c48a38875a388a0" size="976751937" type="7" />
    <id395719231 begin="2048" crc="36865" disk="2200442298" fs="ntfs" number="1" serial="9d4252d05052d08a" size="976769024" type="7" />
    <id3714422275 begin="63" crc="54011" disk="1648095681" fs="ntfs" number="1" serial="95a505acc205ac4e" size="976768002" type="7" />
    </partitions>
    <oses>
    <id665964531 boot_as_ms71="1" boot_as_os2="0" boot_cd_entry="0" icon="icon_boot_floppy" language="" lba="1" letter="65" name_template="Boot from floppy %o" nthide="0" os_type="floppy" use_manual_disks_order="0" write_boot="0">
    <partitions>
    <id209013900 active="1" />
    <id2715026818 active="1" />
    <id3762238403 active="1" />
    <id395719231 active="1" />
    </partitions>
    </id665964531>
    <id1083685641 boot_as_ms71="0" boot_as_os2="0" boot_cd="386801578" boot_cd_entry="0" icon="icon_sys_acronis_loader" language="" lba="1" locked="1" name_template="Acronis Loader" nthide="0" os_type="cd" use_manual_disks_order="0" write_boot="0">
    <partitions>
    <id209013900 active="1" />
    <id2715026818 active="1" />
    </partitions>
    </id1083685641>
    <id196320657 boot_as_ms71="0" boot_as_os2="0" boot_cd_entry="0" boot_partition="209013900" bootname="bootsect.sys" icon="icon_sys_win" language="english" lba="1" multi="multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS" name_template="%n Professional%l %l(%ll%l)" nthide="0" os_type="ntxp" use_manual_disks_order="0" write_boot="1">
    <partitions>
    <id209013900 active="1" />
    <id2715026818 active="1" />
    <id3714422275 active="1" />
    </partitions>
    </id196320657>
    <id1594899531 boot_as_ms71="0" boot_as_os2="0" boot_cd_entry="0" boot_partition="395719231" bootname="bootsect.sys" icon="icon_sys_vista" language="english" lba="1" name_template="%n%l %l(%ll%l)" nthide="0" os_type="ntvista" system_root_identifier="0000000000000000000000000000000006000000000000004800000000000000000010000000000000000000000000000000000001000000174b0f9800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000\Windows" use_manual_disks_order="1" write_boot="1">
    <partitions>
    <id209013900 active="1" />
    <id2715026818 active="1" />
    <id395719231 active="1" />
    </partitions>
    <disks>
    <disk bios_num="129" id="2201147456" />
    <disk bios_num="128" id="2200442298" />
    <disk bios_num="130" id="1965971107" />
    <disk bios_num="0" id="1648095681" />
    <disk bios_num="0" id="3254169403" />
    </disks>
    </id1594899531>
    </oses>
    <checkfiles>
    <checkfile crc="0" name="io.sys" partition="209013900" size="0" />
    <checkfile crc="51105" name="ntldr" partition="209013900" size="295536" />
    <checkfile crc="29589" name="boot.ini" partition="209013900" size="468" />
    </checkfiles>
    <bootmgr default_os="1594899531" disks_order_feature="1" />
    </bootwiz>
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Try unchecking the Disk Order option for the OSS Vista menu entry and see if Vista will boot properly.
     
  7. Randarino

    Randarino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I couldn't find this option you mentioned.....but I did get it working.

    I found in the Options for the Vista Boot selection a place where I could choose the order of the disks to be booted. I apparently had the wrong disk listed first....so I changed the order and got the correct disk first and now she works just fine.

    Thanks for your help anyway....it got me to looking around in the OS Selector.

    Randy
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Randy,

    The option you found was the correct option. Vista doesn't play nice when OSS tries to change the disk order. Usually, the default order is what works.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.