OS Selector Question

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by ctduffy, Feb 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ctduffy

ctduffy Registered Member

I am very new to this tool but so far - it has been very straight-forward.

I installed CentOS, version 4.2 on a separate hard drive and during the installation - I selected NO Boot Loader figuring that installing GRUB will blow away my Windows XP boot loader in the MBR. The installation went great.

I then booted with the Acronis Boot CD and selected OS Selector. It correctly looked at all of the drives and listed the Linux mount points. I tried selecting the /boot mount point and followed the cues on OS Selector. At the end, it said it couldn't find the OS or something like that so I didn't complete the process. I also tried the root mount point /.

I am guessing that I should have gone with GRUB.

Does Acronis have some documentation to advise on how to install multiple OS's without them conflicting with each other?
    Thanks,
    Charlie

2. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello Charlie,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

Please take a look at this FAQ article describing where to install Linux boot loader.

Please also read the section 8.3 of Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 User's Guide. You can download the User's Guide from the Documentation section of our web site.

Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko

3. ctduffy

Thanks for your reply but the doc is very incomplete

None of those documents provide any guidance on how to get boot selector to properly detect Linux. My installation of Linux 4.2 appears to be perfect, all file systems mount via linux rescue and GRUB can run each of the commands: root, kernel, and initrd. That tells me that all the pieces are in place.

My grub.conf file is:

# boot=/dev/sdc1
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd2,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu