OS Selector problem

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Help_Me, Dec 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Help_Me

    Help_Me Guest

    I currently use OS Selector. And upon startup my computer sits at the screen where it says "Starting Acronis Loader..." nothing will happen. Is there any way to disable the OS selector without getting into Windows or any operating system for that matter??
     
  2. Rick_G

    Rick_G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Just south of the Big Chicken
    I don't think there is a way to bypass OS Selector. I had a similar problem recently. Check my prior post for how I got around this.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    Please create Acronis Report in the way described below:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    After you create a report please repair the MBR (Master Boot Record) of the hard disk using one of the following methods:

    Windows 95/98/Me – boot from Startup Disk (floppy) and run "fdisk /mbr" command;
    Windows 2000/XP/2003 – boot from Installation Disc (CD) into Recovery Console and run "fixmbr" command.

    This will deactivate Acronis OS Selector and allow you to boot into Windows.

    Please also download and install the latest build (2077) of Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please reactivate Acronis OS Selector after the latest build installation and see if the issue still persists. If yes then please submit a request for technical support. Attach the collected report.txt file to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will try to find out the reason for Acronis OS Selector not booting and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.