OS Selector folder BOOTWIZ now in every partition?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by hmanfred, Dec 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hmanfred

    hmanfred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    After the upgrade to DDS 10 and the installation of OS Selector from the boot CD (in a separate, small FAT16 partition) I found BOOTWIZ directories not only on my 2 OS partitions as before, but also on every other partition on every disk.
    In the non-OS partitions the BOOTWIZ directories only contain a file named "context.oss". Are this directories necessary, and for what? They do not have the "protected operating system files" attribute like the BOOTWIZ folders on the OS partitions. Small bug or any specific reason for that?
     
  2. pjiv

    pjiv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    I have always noticed them on every partition. They are hidden of course, and can only be seen if you have modified your system to show hidden & system files.
     
  3. hmanfred

    hmanfred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    pjiv

    I personally have seen them always only on the bootable partitions (OS Selector 8 and DDS 9.0 product versions), but never on other non-OS logical partitions. I'm still able to validate that when I take a look into my TI backups before the migration to DDS 10.
    Yes, the BOOTWIZ directories on my 2 bootable partitions are hidden, and showed only when I change my folder options to make them visible. But the new BOOTWIZ directories on non-OS partitions don't have the system file attribute at all, so they are always visible.

    Therefore I want to know if this BOOTWIZ directories containing only "context.oss" files are really needed by OSS. If this is the case, I will assign them a system file attribute manually to hide them. Otherwise I would prefer to delete them.

    Kind regards
    Manfred
     
  4. pjiv

    pjiv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    Since I only have DD10 I can't comment on this any further. I have verrified that they only contain the 1 file you mentioned. Maybe that is a way for the OSS Selector to look for new partitions that MIGHT have an OS, but that is just pure speculation on my part.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The context.oss files are xml files that seem to contain the boot information for that partition. On non-boot partitions, the file is almost empty (and sometimes not hidden). If you delete it I think that OSS will just recreate it. It might work to hide the BOOTWIZ folder but I haven't tried it.
     
  6. hmanfred

    hmanfred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    Ok, I've tried to hide the visible BOOTWIZ directories and the files in it. They disappear only when I not only select to hide system files, but also hide "normal" folders and files in the folders properties. Works, and seems to have no negative impact on OSS.

    To make it short: I think Acronis should use the same file and folder attributes for ALL bootwiz directories. I can see no reason why some of them are hidden and some not. Maybe a (not very important) bug?

    We'll see if that will be changed in the future, but I can live with the current situation.
     
  7. pjiv

    pjiv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    How about this support? Why are some of these visible?
     
  8. The Headquarters

    The Headquarters Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same problem. U can make BOOTWIZ hidden + system folder.
    Let's say the BOOTWIZ is located on the D drive.
    Open command prompt and type:
    Code:
    attrib +s +h D:\BOOTWIZ
    And it's gone!

    Alternatively u can use this great tool to change file and folder attributes:
    http://www.miklsoft.com/attrman
     
  9. mangoman

    mangoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    Ztree is also great for seeing and changing attributes. The new version 160 has full Vista support. I do not believe anything I see in a Windows file info Window unless I can verify it on Ztree.
     
  10. ronstephens

    ronstephens Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Just wanted to say my 2cents...I'm a Ztree fan (from xtree days!), and yeah, it's a "must have", along with Total Commander.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.