OS Selector and Vista

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Derrell Gore, Mar 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Derrell Gore

    Derrell Gore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I have been reading the threads and trying to get this to work. Here is what is happening to me.

    When I install Vista it doesn't ask me for a drive letter. It does ask me to tell it which partition I want to install it on.

    No matter what I do it makes this drive a C: which totally hoses my XP partition.

    My other option was to install with only one drive hooked up. Once I hooked the other drives back up and booted to OS Selector it could not see the Vista Installation.

    Also tried using the steps in previous message where you use OS selector to turn off partitions. It recognized the DVD but not the partition.

    ANybody have a clue? I can't think of anything else to try. I am already dual booting XP and Linux with no problem.

    Derrell Gore
     
  2. Givmeabrek

    Givmeabrek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Vista will always install to C. You don't want anything else. Just install to an empty partition or drive and it will always be C when in Vista. It should give you a boot menu to let you chose the OS. XP will also be in C when you boot into it. Don't try to force any other Drive letter.

    Rich
     
  3. RAltman

    RAltman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I am having the same (or seemingly similar) problem:

    I cannot get OS Selector to recognize two bootable partitions.


    Hard Disk 0:
    Partition 0: 500 MB Primary with OS Selector
    Partition 1: 25 GB Primary for Vista
    Partition 2: 20 GB Primary for XP

    Desired result: When booting Vista, partitions 0 and 2 are hidden; when booting XP, partitions 0 and 1 are hidden.

    Seems simple, and yet OS Selector just won't do it - there seems no way past the "No new operating system is found..."
     
  4. RTShaw

    RTShaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Port Huron, Mi Usa
    i have basically the same problem, and looking in oss at the "edit operating system properties: " window 4 each partition it locks the c: drive to active but hidden both buttons ghosted out. i have this strange feeling the hidden partition holds boot info 4 the other os's
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    The "Hidden" checkbox being grayed out is a bug that hasn't been corrected. It happens when the partition is hidden when OSS is setup. There are several ways to fix this.

    One is to boot from the rescue cd, uninstall OSS, use DD to make all the partitions visable, reinstall OSS. Then setup the partitions you want hidden in each OS's settings. I've found when doing this that you can't have a XP partition active to have it correctly setup the boot details. See my notes in the link below.

    Two, you can edit the Bootwiz.oss file manually and correct the problem. This is actually very easy to do. See this thread for the details.
     
  6. RTShaw

    RTShaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Port Huron, Mi Usa

    thats it... thank u very much... one 2 do my thing..!!

    again a BIG thanks
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    RTShaw:

    Glad to help. I fought that same problem way too long before figuring out how to work around it. Then I found the other thread about editing the bootwiz.oss file, which is a much easier solution.

    I wish Acronis would just fix the bug. It's been around forever. It's absolutely ridiculous for it to gray out the checkboxes so you can't select what you need when setting up your boot options. And the active boot partition should never be "hidden".

    Right now OSS keeps corrupting my Vista boot and I keep having to redetect it. I'm getting pretty fed up with it and will probably try some different boot managers.
     
  8. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Pieter Arntz:

    If you're asking me, I don't know. I haven't messed around with bcdedit.

    I may have figured out the problem with OSS screwing up my Vista boot entry, but it hasn't been long enough yet to tell for sure. I still had one XP boot using the non-Vista version of OSS. I updated it and went through all my boots multiple times and everything seems okay so far.

    Thanks for the link. I'll check it out.
     
  10. RTShaw

    RTShaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Port Huron, Mi Usa
    i havent either, i keep getting sidetracked by other projects and problems.. good luck
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.