OS Selector and norton ghost

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by rvega, Jun 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rvega

    rvega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I am trying to complete a setup of a dual boot windows xp windows xp image. I am using the acronis oss selector as a point for users to pick out the os they want to boot. However when I try to make an image of the setup and put it on a computer to test it acts all funky on me.

    It seems that if I get the setup to image with the OS Selector up and running, neither xp image is working. It says that it can't find it on the partition.
    Other ways I've tried result in a working image and then i have to reinstall OS Selector, (which is ok), then it works. Basically flawless and everyone is happy! However the trick here is getting it consisently booting into the operating system after dropping the image that has the disk director already setup on it. I tested with 2 different pcs the other day with the same image, and each pc ended up booting to different partitions. What the heck?!

    I've tried various options in norton ghost to see if i could resolve this but it seems like its just being a huge pain.

    IDEAS?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    rvega,

    Which Ghost are you using?

    Are you imaging and restoring the first track?
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are both of the XP partitions isolated from each other (the one you want to boot is Active, the other is hidden)?

    When you restore, are you restoring them both or one at a time? If restoring them one at a time, are you installing/reactivating OSS after each restore or only after the final restore?

    OSS can be kind of "fussy" about detecting installations depending on how they are setup, restored, etc.
     
  4. rvega

    rvega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    We use norton ghost 8.

    I have a 2 partition image in which both sides have windows xp on them and both sides are syspreped in my image. I then try to drop the image to my test machine.

    I've tried dropping the image with the -id (image disk), -ia (image all), and -ib (image boot) options selected.
    With the -ia and -id options I got the OS Selector screen to come up after imaging, which was cool but it stated it could not see either of the operating systems and had a red X on the icons.

    Before it was doing this it would just coming up with one of the operating systems (It seemed like it was random). The if it was not the correct OS (the one with disk director installed), I would have to change the active partition, then repair the OS Selector install. Then everything was working great

    The OS's are not isolated or hidden from each other. Which should be ok since we will be using Deep freeze for each side to freeze them from being changed.

    I am considering putting the Disk Director back on the os that is on the first partition on the drive since that is the one that tends to come up more so by default for me, but I hate to do that and then end up having the other os boot by default.

    I'm just now trying to iron out the final details so that we we image 40 machines its as easy as it can possibly be.


    Thanks,
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    With the -ib switch, does it have to be used at both the image and restore stage? My experience with DOS Ghost is limited.
     
  6. rvega

    rvega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    i'm not sure about the -ib switch. I'll have to look into that.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.