Origin and Games for Windows problem

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by viper37, Oct 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. viper37

    viper37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Quebec
    Hi.

    I had Eset Smart Security installed for years, through various versions. I had Origin and Games for Windows Marketplace software installed and working fine.

    Then, my just bought SSD failed before I could complete my backup, so I had to reinstall everything from scratch.

    First, all Windows 7 updates then Smart Security and all of my applications, games and other nice things :)

    But from this point, I couldn't log on Origin anymore, it would only stay offline. I installed Games for Windows software to get my last games and I have the same problem.

    Tried fiddling with the settings, didn't work. So I uninstalled Smart Security and rebooted the computer. It works! Great, must be some rule... So, I start downloading a few things, then I decide to reinstall SS and at first, it works. As soon as I rebooted my computer, it stopped working. Origin won't go on-line, Games for Windows won't detect any internet connection.

    I have tried manually adding a rule for both softwares, didn't work. I set the firewall to "interactive mode" and let it create a rule. Didn't work. I edited the rule to make it "both ways" and for all ports, didn't work.
    Rebooted the computer, tried again all different modes of the firewall, no luck, still won't connect to the internet for these 2 apps.

    All other softwares are able to access the internet no problem. Steam works fine, Gamefly works fine, Gamestop works fine. Chrome, Firefox, Thunderbird, Windows update, P2P, you name it: no problem.

    But when it comes to Origin and Game for Windows, it doesn't work with Smart Security.

    I haven't tried MS Support, but EA tech support is worthless and tells me to uninstall my firewall.

    I'd hate to switch to a new software, I really like Smart Security, about as much as I loath Origin and MS gaming platform. But, a few of my games need these softwares, and I kinda like these games.

    So, I need help to make these work.

    I am pretty sure it is some small detail that has escape me. I'm good with computers, but I'm not a programmer nor a network specialist.

    Configuration:
    Windows 7 (all updates installed)
    AMD FX-8120
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    8 gb RAM DDR3
    MSI Radeon 7950 (latest AMD drivers)
    OCZ Vertex 4 with 120gb free as main drive (on wich SS is installed)
    WD Caviar black 2TB drive (about 1tb free).

    No other security softwares installed, aside from Eset Smart Security.
     
  2. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does it work if you change the firewall integration type to "Only scan application protocols" and restart the computer?
     
  4. viper37

    viper37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Quebec
    Janus, thanks for the suggestions.

    Marcos, your suggestion did not work.
    I have attached my log, it doesn't seem to show any blocked connections for Origin or GfW.

    I have just tried it before posting the message, and it does not show in my logs, nor do yesterday night's attemps shows.
     

    Attached Files:

    • log.txt
      File size:
      2.2 KB
      Views:
      19
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Apparently there's a port scan attack being performed from the IP adddress 192.168.1.101. Since it's another computer / device in your LAN, you can exclude the IP address from active protection in the Zone setup.
    Unfortunately, this will not solve the problem as disabling the firewall did not make any difference as you wrote. Please also try switching the firewall integration type to "Personal firewall is completely disabled". I assume it will work then but try it anyways to make sure.
     
  6. viper37

    viper37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Quebec
    Yes *.101 is another computer on the network with a fixed IP adress.
    But why is it sending port scan attacks? Should I be worried?

    Router is 192.168.1.1 (Linksys E3000), range extender is 192.168.1.2 (Linksys RE1000) in case that matters.

    I will try your suggestion as soon as I'm back home and will report.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  7. viper37

    viper37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Quebec
    It does work that way, the firewall is completely disabled and Origin and GfW both work.
     
  8. viper37

    viper37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Quebec
    Anything else? Any suggestions to make it work as part of normal operations?
     
  9. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hello viper37,


    To be able to connect to Games for Windows you need to allow the GFWLClient.exe executable which you can find at this location: c:\Program Files\Microsoft Games for Windows -LIVE\Client\GFWLClient.exe in Eset Firewall and also you need to allow zdp.exe. That file is located in the installation directory of the Windows Live Game you wanted to play. I had to allow it to be able to play Dark Souls Prepare to Die Edition on my pc.


    To be able to connect Origin you need to allow the following executables:
    Origin.exe, EACoreServer.exe, OriginClientService.exe, and EAProxyInstaller.exe. Take also a look a this forumtopic.

    Regards
    Niels
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please create 2 Wireshark logs, one with http filtering disabled when the issue doesn't occur and one with http enabled. Then compress the logs, upload them to a safe location and pm me the download link.
     
  11. viper37

    viper37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Quebec
  12. viper37

    viper37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Quebec
    It didn't work for Origin. I have added all these EXE + th EAProxyinstaller in the legacy folder + login.exe in the same folder. No luck.

    I haven't tried GFW.
     
  13. viper37

    viper37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Quebec
    were the logs ok? Is there anything else I can do but shut down the firewall?
     
  14. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hello viper37,

    Did you also create rules for the executables in the Game installation folder? I mean bf3.exe, ....


    Eset firewall has feature that you will receive a warning when there is change a file, which is normally the case when there is an update available.

    Regards,
    Niels
     
  15. viper37

    viper37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Quebec
    No, I didn't make a rule for the game exe. At this point, I can't even log on Origin, so I figured it would be uncessary for now.

    The thing is, I don't receive any message at all from ESET. It's as if nothing was happenning.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.