OPSS and the Paging File

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by whitedragon551, Sep 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    After installing Outpost Pro Security Suite from GAOTD I get an error from my paging file at boot up.

    It didnt start until I installed OPSS. What settings do I need to disable or modify to allow the creation of a page file? Even if I turn off a page file I still get the error.
     
  2. horch

    horch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    what kind of error message do you get?

    i have a problem that may be related. i get a bluescreen when the sandbox-driver is disabled and the pagefile resides on a ram-drive. this could be related to outposts service-configuration in the registry, maybe some changes in "ServiceGroupOrder" or "GroupOrderList", but i never found a olution.
    the sandbox.sys-driver intercepts nearly everything, its installation/configuration could be the source of your/my problems.
     
  3. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I have attached an image of my error. This happens when I boot up or when I try to change pagefile options.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,085
  5. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    This doesnt matter. Outpost is stopping access to it somehow and the OS thinks it doesnt have one so it creates a temporary one. The pagefile itself is fine. I need to figure out how to stop this from happening within OPSS.
     
  6. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,085
    Start the computer in safe mode configure again the pagefile, open outpost delete all the rules (reset), put it in training mode, and start the computer in the normal mode.
     
  7. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Its already been in training mode.
     
  8. horch

    horch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    could you delete the sandbox.sys driver (temporarily, make an archive or move it out of the drivers directory) and reboot?
     
  9. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ whitedragon551

    I know you'ld like to find out the reason, but why not disable your PF ? If you have enough RAM you don't Actually need one. I've been without one since 98SE days with NO probs :thumb:
     
  10. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Because it still does it without it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.