"Operation has completed with errors" - translation anyone?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cian, Oct 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cian

    cian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I just bought and ran True Image 9, and ran a backup from
    2 x 250GB SATA II 300Mbps RAID 0 Array (NVIDIA NF4) (70% empty)
    to a Acronis Secure Zone setup exclusivly on a USB2 400GB Seagate Drive
    I ran a full (incremental) backup.

    2 hours later I got this very helpful and explantory message.

    "Operation has completed with errors"

    then elsewhere, and equally insightful

    error code "0x640005"

    So I'm left wondering - do I actually have a full drive image or one with mising components - and if so why. Backups need "confidence" to be usable, and I'm still within the money back period, with not a lot of confidence.

    Does anyone have any idea what this error is? File in use or something? I had everything off that could go off - even (ONCE ONLY) the Anti-Virus (on an ongoing basis AV will stay on).

    BUILD 2,277 ACRONIS TRUE IMAGE
    AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+
    RADEON X800 Series Driver 6.14.10.6571
    Creative Audigy Audio Processor (WDM) Driver 5.12.1.443
    Motherboard DFI UT NF4-Ultra-D
    2GB Corsair CMX Ram
    Microsoft Windows XP SP2 5.1.2600
    D: Maxtor 6Y250P0
    C: NVIDIA STRIPE 465.77G
    H: ST340083 2A USB Device (Seagate HD)
    (Acronis secure zone is on all but 16MB of H, it refused 16MB which windows took)

    ---

    Separately - I was a little irritated to find that I could not setup the start up recovery manager, as apparently USB drives are not bootable. Personally I have not even seen a main board that CAN'T boot from USB in over 2 years..... and that Includes by Acronis's South SF office as I used to work there - no one has them (or would admit it). What gives Acronis...?

    o_O

    Cian
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2005
  2. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Translation: TI9 is still unsatifactorily unreliable on my machine and they haven't by any stretch resolved the large number of outstanding issues.

    Hmph !
    "backup" indeed....
     
  3. cian

    cian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    sounds about right. bye bye future business Acronis.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cian and crofttk,

    First of all please make sure that you use the latest build (2289) of Acronis True Image 9.0. In order to get access to updates you should register account on our site (or just log in if you have already created it) and then register your copy of the product.

    cian, please clarify the following:
    Did you try to create the image archive from Acronis Bootable CD? Did you verify this image with "Check Image" tool?

    crofttk, please let me know your problems with Acronis True Image 9.0, we will certainly resolve it.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  5. cian

    cian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    yes, latest build, it was a brand new install off your site. ran check, worked - but I would have no confidence in a check when I get such an ambigious error message. well it was the latest on the day this occured, at least it was the one you gave me when i bought it - backup was same day....................
     
  6. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Thanks, Irina.

    I'm running TI9 build 2289 and the corrupt images error message still occurs, although it does seem partially resolved it hasn't been entirely corrected.

    HOWEVER, I don't have a current up to date set of results to report. Since you've asked and I've applied to be a beta tester anyways, I will make the time to do a systematic and thorough check over the next few days and report the results in my own thread.

    Thanks !
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cian and crofttk,

    Our Development Team is working on this problem and we expect the solution to be implemented in future. Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  8. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Thanks, Irina. I will test anyways and re-test if a new build shows up soon.

    cian:

    Hope you don't mind my participation in your thread. Good Luck !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.