Opera tries to install driver/service

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by aslan, Sep 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aslan

    aslan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I use ProcessGuard and the Opera browser. I've set Opera to allow access to physical memory which all browsers appear to need, but when I close opera I get a warning from PG that it tried to install a driver/service. I don't allow it to, and everything seems to work OK, but does anyone know what it's trying to do?
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi aslan, I am not an opera user but I am sure others will reply with their settings for opera.
    Can you please state which version of opera you are using and any addins or other associated opera utilities?

    Thanks. Pilli
     
  3. aslan

    aslan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    It's version 8.5, and there are no additional plug-ins or utilties.
     
  4. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Same thing with me. I have a lot of other programs that don't need protection but try to install drivers or globals hooks.

    So they end up on the protection list.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It could be the update driver it uses to check for updates for the browser.
     
  6. Carver

    Carver Guest

    I use Opera 8.5 and Process Guard and when I close Opera Process Guard does not give me a warning that Opera tried to install a driver/service.
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, aslan

    Firefox does not need access to physical memory.

    Take care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  8. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    For me, Opera also does not need to access physical memory. But it does want to install a driver each time I exit.
     
  9. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Why not write Opera Support and ask about this?

    regards,

    -rich
    ________________
    ~~Be ALERT!!! ~~
     
  10. aslan

    aslan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for all your suggestions. I will write to Opera and ask them why it wants to install a driver/service.

    TheQuest, the paper by Andreas on this site does recommend giving Firefox physical memory access. I've noticed that all the browsers I've tried (IE, Firefox and Opera) do ask for it when run with PG. Anybody else tried running their browser without physical memory access? Any ill effects?

    Thanks.
     
  11. spectators

    spectators Guest

    Firefox w/ Flash plugin runs great for me without any special permissions set. I'm sure a few other popular plugins and extensions would (legitly) ask for it though, especially the Java runtime.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.