Opera --> New Stable Version Released!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by BoerenkoolMetWorst, Aug 27, 2013.

  1. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    I'm personally waiting for version 29 to get a fix for the maximised window start in Linux.
     
  2. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,278
    Location:
    Outer space
    Opera finally released a new stable version with a new chromium version including fixes for the Pwn2Own vulnerabilities:
    http://blogs.opera.com/desktop/changelog-28/#b1750.51
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,535
    Thanks! ;)
     
  4. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,535
    For those that have or might have issues with some videos and audio, like SoundCloud, try to disable this option:

    opera://flags/#proprietary-media-types-playback
     
  5. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    428
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    41,964
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Opera, Portable Edition 29.0.1795.47 Rev 2 (web browser) Released, for PA Platform, courtesy of PortableApps.com.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2015
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,278
    Location:
    Outer space
    Opera is lagging a bit too much behind Chrome/Chromium for my taste. Opera 29 with Chromium v42 with lots of security fixes is now finally available after 14 days, and now they're behind again with the 42.0.2311.135 security release. Of course new versions of Opera like v29 need to be properly tested before release, but they also could have released a minor update for v28 instead.
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,604
    hi
    does somebody know how re-create the thumbs in the speed dial ?
    i tried to delete thumbnails.db in the profile data but it doesn't work
    i run opera 29.0.1795.47
    thanks
     
  9. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    428
    Go to the websites you have in SD, click on the heart icon in navigation bar and choose which image you want.
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,604
    hi
    but so i should add all my speed dial website to my favorites , right?
    but that's weird because yesterday in the SD i had all the thumbnails


    yesterday i got in the sd all the thumbs like this , that's weird

    http://i.imgur.com/y1rjHoy.jpg

    now i have in the SD thumbs like this
    http://i.imgur.com/4GsW3lS.jpg
     
  11. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    That's the new (and IMO worse) Speed Dial that Opera 29 uses by default.

    You can disable it and go back to the old one:

    • Go to opera://flags/
    • Find 'Experimental start page'
    • Change it to 'Disabled'
    • Restart Opera
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,604
    thanks a lot!
    you did fix it!!
    weird because i did not change it
     
  13. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    If you updated to Opera 29, it changed automatically.
     
  14. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,164
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    These are some of the best changes I have observed in Opera so far. In fact, the audio indicator is particularly helpful to me. I am seeing good progress on productivity with Opera and hope for more such changes. In fact, the android version is coming along well too. :)

    Good job, guys.
     
  15. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    Sadly, you can't set Ctrl+Z as a keyboard shortcut, as it was in the old days (reopen closed tab).
     
  16. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
    That's true but given that Ctrl+T opens a new tab, Ctrl+Shift+T (reopen closed tab) is more logical, imo.
     
  17. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    Have you tried pressing Ctrl+Shift+T with one hand? It's not exactly a comfortable experience.
     
  18. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
    Nice catch. OK what seems logical doesn't necessarily mean it is comfortable. :)
     
  19. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    428
  20. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,278
    Location:
    Outer space
    Thanks for the notification :)
    And again when Opera finally released an update with the latest security fixes from Chromium, there is already another new version, this time with 37(!) security fixes. I hope this time they don't take again 3 weeks to release an update.
     
  21. 59er

    59er Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Oregon
    Some XP users may be stuck with 28.0.1750.51 for awhile. There is an auto update problem with XP in Opera 29 with the fix in Beta 30. I had 29 on and the update continually failed. Did a manual download a couple of weeks ago and the above 28 was installed over the top. Every time I check, it says browser is up to date. Cheers!
     
  22. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    41,964
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Last edited: May 22, 2015
  23. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
    Exactly. They have to make Opera updates swiftly after every new Chromium update. OK, a few days delay is acceptable but not weeks.
     
  24. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
  25. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    428
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.