Opera in my program files.. but not in my program files?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Huey, Aug 13, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Huey

Huey Registered Member

Firstly i would like to introduce myself and say how great of a site this is.. it seems to be something thats needed more on the net and something not enough people use.

Anyway Im not sure what kind of problem this is if it is one but Im just suspicious as to why Opera would be listed in my program files (even though i cant find it in there) when i had never even heard of the program until CyberScrub discovered it while i was playing around with the program?

I am fairly new to the fine details of computer software and the internet but I cant help but to see this as a security risk. All the same though with what knowlege i do have it seems very strange as to why a program like Opera would be hidden in my program files?

How could it be hidden in there anyway? How could have it got there? Why would it be there? And how can i find it and access it?

If it helps i run XP and Internet Explorer and have already done a deep search looking for it and come up with nothing. Thanx to anyone who replies :)

Cheers.. Huey.

2. snapdragin

snapdragin Registered Member

hello Heuy and welcome! :)

Program Files is where Opera installs to if you've downloaded the browser (file itself is 11.0 MB) but are you saying there is just an empty folder in your Program Files called Opera with nothing in it?

if there is a file in there can you give the name of it and maybe list the properties, that would give the date it was d/l'ed and maybe enough that someone would recognize it. Even if you right-click on the folder, it would give you the date the folder was created, that might help in determining when it was installed.

it might be an ad file of some kind?

snap