Opera and Mail Service

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JerryM, Jun 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I use Outlook Express exclusively.
    I upgraded Opera a few days ago and now when it starts there is a splash screen that says.
    "Before you can use your mail feed messages, Opera needs to update your mail database to a new format. Would you like to do this now?"

    There seems to be no way to disable it that I can find. Any help?
    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    What happens if you just click Yes?

    Im most certain you can ignore Opera's mail component if you dont want to use it.
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Good question? Also why do these splash screen messages have to be so cryptic? Explain why i need to update to a new format and then I can tell you if "I want to do it now".:rolleyes:
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I don't know. I hate to click on something that I feel sure I am not going to use, but maybe it would be OK in this case.
    I'll wait awhile and see if anyone else has used it. I could always click Yes and if I did not like the results remove Opera.

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Big C is your man. He loves Opera.
     
  6. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Well, I just clicked "Yes" and it did its thing in an instant. I don't see anything different in my OE or Mailwasher.

    I guess that will get rid of the splash screen, and if I see any problem I'll ditch it.

    Thanks for the comments. If anything goes awry I'll post it.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Yep, I love Opera. After clicking yes it shouldn't bug you anymore with that popup. Operaweb mail is not bad but I don't use it either.
     
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    The question still remains what happened when you clicked yes? What exactly did Opera do and why did it need to do it?
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It was probably an update to the opera mail program would be my guess. I haven't even created an account for Opera mail so I don't get any popups concerning the mail. But I imagine that is what it is.
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Sounds reasonable thanks.
     
  11. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks.
    I have not used the Opera mail program either. However, once I did try to send email from a link, and recall that Opera told me that I would have to configure the mail program. When I clicked it I saw it was not what I wanted and closed it.
    Maybe that was the reason the screen came up thinking I was using it. Anyway, after "Yes" it is not a problem now.

    I appreciate the help, All.

    Regards,
    Jerery
     
  12. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044
    The new version 9.5 uses a different database for the inbult mail program. While email can be upgraded from the previous release 9.27to the new database used in 9.5, afaik this cannot be reversed.
    I suspect that if you do not use the inbuilt mail module, this change to the database does not affect you at all. If you want to know more details, check out the Opera forum. The users there are very helpful and someone more knowledgeable than should be able to explain this better.:D
     
  13. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, and have a good day.
    Regards,
    Jerry
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.