Opera 11.60 Update

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by SFC, Dec 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SFC

    SFC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Still no hardware acceleration (should be in Opera 12).
     
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Dare I ask ... ? ;)

    EDIT: Same old, same old ... but worse! LOL
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2011
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    The best web browser gets even better.
    the new Mail UI is a nice improvement.
    I have been using opera as my main browser for years now.

    @Daveski17 care to give some more details about why you dont like opera?
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It would probably be the best web browser if it worked properly. Details of why I don't like Opera? Actually I think it's OK as a browser & has some great innovations. Unfortunately the favicons disappearing with an alarming rapidity & consistency from the personal bar is just shoddy development in my opinion. It's a bug well known to the Opera user community & on every release I expect it to be fixed & it seems to get worse. My Opera portable version got fried so regularly that I have gone back to the SeaMonkey portable (Portable Apps) & it is fine. SeaMonkey also had a British English version well before Opera's actually worked properly & SM isn't even European! Don't even get me started on page rendering & adblocking ...

    If Opera was the best web browser more than six people would actually use it!

    I give it three out of ten for effort & no cigar.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Which portable version of opera you try? there are three. official installer, operausb and portable apps version. Favicons dont really bother me tbh.
    I Have not seen many pages that dont render in opera. I feel that web developers that do not support all major browsers are not doing their job properly.
    Im not sure what the personal bar is as such. I only have the web address bar shown at the top and the standard bar at the bottom so not aware of the issue you are talking about. Opera has pretty much all the functionality people will want without having to use extensions.
     
  6. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Oh boy, Daveski17, you are making me feel silly for using it as my main
    browser, but I can't do without - otherwise withdrawal symptons. :argh:

    Overall useful features outweigh minor 'problems' for me. I don't use the Personal bar so can't comment on that.

    Having said that, I must say that SeaMonkey 2.5.1 does give Opera a run for its
    money. I suppose it all depends on how each individual configures the browser
    profiles ...
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    On my notebook, the adblocking extension works relatively well as its slower than my Win 7 64 bit desktop. I was using the Portable Apps Opera. Oddly, Opera can render some pages that only IE seems to be able to, National Geographic slide-shows for one example. Don't get me wrong, I think Opera has a lot going for it. It just never fails to underwhelm me though.
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, I used it for quite a while as my default. I know how you feel, sometimes I just can't help giving it a spin. ;)

    I've stopped using the personal bar, strangely, SeaMonkey had the same favicon problem a couple of years back, but they fixed it.

    Does anyone use Fanboy's .ini list for adblocking in Opera?
     
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Oh yeah, & I don't like the new colour (grey) of the bookmark folders either!
     
  10. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The only things I really notice in this new version are the new address bar, which, frankly, isn't all that different from the old. The smart search feature of the address bar does seem a bit improved though.

    What I do notice is that the memory usage has dropped quite noticeably. It's about 70-80% of what it used to be on average. Earlier, I used to get prompts from AVG Advisor about Opera's memory usage when I had many tabs up. The frequency of those prompts has definitely gone down with this version.
     
  11. jnthn

    jnthn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    185
    I'm hating the new address bar functionality and had to uncheck Show Searches In Addressfield Autocompletion under opera:config just to clean up the mess a bit. Another major annoyance for me is that bookmarks are mixed with previous history and not designated at the top of the list. Makes going to bookmarked sites a bit tedious.
     
  12. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yeah but wow its still hungry.. same 5 tabs open in ff 8 or 9 using approx 85mb are using almost 270mb in opera!!
     
  13. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Agreed, and I'm glad you're reporting similar memory usage to what I have observed on Opera relative to Firefox, it makes me a bit happier that it's not just an issue with my PC :D
     
  14. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    On Ubuntu

    25 tabs Opera = 164Mb
    25 tabs Firefox = 102Mb* (using old FF 3.6; will check new firefox 8.01 in other linux OS)
    21 tabs Chromium = Unbelievably high usage, even without extensions. :eek:

    * With add-ons
    (Opera doesn't need add-ons the way I use it)

    Firefox 8 with 25 tabs = 33MB
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  16. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    for firefox users...do you also count plug in comtainer memory usage?
     
  17. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    How the hell are you getting 33Mb with 25 tabs open? Empty tabs? I'm using a single tab for Wilders and FF 8 is sitting at 136Mb. That's not even counting the plugin container.

    @acuariano: I personally don't count the container in "browser" memory usage.
     
  18. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    well the plugin container is part of the firefox usage..
     
  19. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Only when plugins are loaded/have recently been loaded. But I get your point.
     
  20. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    11.60 good here. Clearer look of speed dial over a greyer background. Everything else I had is intact.
    Memory use - well, I don't really know what to look at but with three tabs open 143-160K total.
     
  21. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Sorry, my mistake, it's about 156MB with 25 tabs open. About 87MB with only one tab (Wilders).

    FF mem.jpg

    The full story (or what ?) with pmap ... http://sharetext.org/CG59
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.