Opensuse Restore does not work

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Novell1, Nov 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Novell1

    Novell1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Hi
    I did a sucessfully backup and restore with the Acronis Echo Ent. Bootcd.
    When I start after restore the Opensuse 10.3 box will not start correctly.
    It seams that the OS knows the old disk and therefore can't go ahead.
    What can I do? Do I need for Linux a special procedure?

    Thanks!
    novell1
     
  2. Novell1

    Novell1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    I have also installed successfully the Acronis Echo Linux Agent. I did a backup again, but the restore to a other different disk is not working! The restore to the same disk works (vendor, type). How can I fix this problem?
    Thanks
     
  3. Tuxy

    Tuxy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Your problem is most likely that the bootloader is pointing to the wrong place after restoring to a different location.

    If you use GRUB, you need to modify /boot/grub/menu.lst). You may have to run the command grub-install <device> if your MBR doesn't have it.

    If you use LILO, modify /etc/lilo.conf (and re-run lilo to update the MBR)

    Google the applicable doc/guide for more specific information on exactly what in menu.lst/lilo.conf you must change.

    Note that if you're dual-booting windows & linux, you'll need to make sure your linux bootloader is either able to chain-load Windows or is itself being chainloaded from the Windows bootloader.

    If you get past the bootloader (i.e the kernel & initrd disk image are loaded), you may have to update your primary fstab if you previously used hardcoded addressing instead of labels (i.e. /dev/sda2 instead of LABLE=/ or UUID=442A2-72D1-....).
     
  4. Novell1

    Novell1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Hi Tuxy,

    if I start the grub-install /dev/sda2 I get only errors. Do you have the exact commands to reinstall the Opensuse10.3 Boot stuff?

    Thanks a lot!!!!!!!

    Novell1
     
  5. Novell1

    Novell1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Hi to all, Hi Tuxi,

    I have changed all the linies /dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_SAMSUNG_SP20A1xxxx-partX to /dev/sda1 (swap) and the two others root (/dev/sd2) and home (/dev/sda3) in the file /etc/fstab.
    But after reboot he is looking for "waiting for device /dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_Samsung......
    What else do I have to change, that i can boot and can do images to other disks?
    I am the only one with Acronis Imageing/Restoring Opensuse 10.3o_O

    Thanks a lot!!!!!!!
    Novell1
     
  6. Novell1

    Novell1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Hi,

    i have a existing problem that after Imageing (Restore, Ghost, Acronis) to a new disk, it does remeber the old disk vendor (by-id-Samsung....) so can't boot up. I have chanded to the new OpenSuse 11.1.

    1. How can I install Opensuse11.1 so that the diskinformation is not set by ID? (Does LVM help? and if yes How..?)
    I think sda sda1, sda2.. is working with Imageingsoftware ( In OS10.2 it works!). What are the steps for that in OS11.1?

    2. The new OS11.1 has a working repair function, if I boot with the DVD.
    How is the correct way to change all the by-id with the repairmodus?

    3. Has Acronis for not Linux cracks for cloning Harddisk a better detailed document?



    Thanks a lot!!!!
     
  7. Novell1

    Novell1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    No Tips No answer?

    Many of us like the imageing software for backup and restore. Also many of us use it to clone a harddisk to a bigger one. This works fine in the windows world, but not on the Linux world. Therefore the product Acronis for Linux or Acronis Echo Enterprise (with Linuxagent included) can do the job not right and is not useful.
    There sould be more documentation for each distro Opensuse 11, Redhut etc.
    Hope in future releases the product and support will be better.......
     
  8. Novell1

    Novell1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    HI,
    for all who want to do a Image Restore to a new disk. This should be more clearly in the Acronis Documentation!

    On the working disk you do ls -l /dev/disk/by-id/
    here you can see all your partitions.

    - edit file /etc/fstab and change all the /dev/disk/by-id/ ata-Samungxxx stuff
    with sda or sda1 - have a look on ls -l /dev/disk/by-id/

    - edit /boot/grub/menu.lst
    change your kernel /boot/vmlinux root=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-Samsung......
    with /dev/sdx

    -edit /boot/grub/device.map
    change (hd0) /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Samsung......
    to (hd0) /dev/sdx
    With that I can Restore the Image to other Disks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.