Open Ports

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Avie, Aug 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Avie

    Avie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    5
    Failed Shields UP with AVG 8 w FW.
    How do I manually close the 6 listed open ports?
    TIA
     
  2. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Disconnect from the internet. o_O


    otherwise look at some other firewalls I believe AVG FW is very very basic lacking config options tho I could be wrong
     
  3. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    I have just scanned AVG8 firewall but not seeing any open ports,... please post the port numbers that are showing as open.


    - Stem
     
  4. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    There have been further changes with the firewall, here is a screen shot of the default advanced rules for Firefox:-

    AVG_firewall_FF.jpg


    - Stem
     
  5. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    If I remember correctly, AVG FW blocks all ports except 80. So I am surprised how 6 ports seem to be open ....

    Just to beat my curiosity, can you please disable AVG FW and then do a Shields UP test ?? Just to make sure, these open ports are on your system and not on any router/NAT in between.

    Thanks again ...
     
  6. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Not recommended.

    Asking a user to disable their firewall when it is unknown if an external firewall is in place is not a good idea.

    Simply checking the firewall logs will show if the scans are hitting the firewall.


    - Stem
     
  7. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Sorry,Stem...
    I thought disabling firewall for a few moments will cause no harm.

    But you are right, the logs would be a secure method to evaluate if there is a network device in between without compromise on the user-end.
     
  8. Ghost_ARCHER

    Ghost_ARCHER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    I guess you are running some server programs ....... They are listening to the ports

    Or you might have virtual server or some other port forwarding in your router....

    I once have my port 80 open for years without even host a single game....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.