Open Ports

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Avie, Aug 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Avie

    Avie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    5
    Failed Shields UP with AVG 8 w FW.
    How do I manually close the 6 listed open ports?
    TIA
     
  2. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Disconnect from the internet. o_O


    otherwise look at some other firewalls I believe AVG FW is very very basic lacking config options tho I could be wrong
     
  3. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    I have just scanned AVG8 firewall but not seeing any open ports,... please post the port numbers that are showing as open.


    - Stem
     
  4. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    There have been further changes with the firewall, here is a screen shot of the default advanced rules for Firefox:-

    AVG_firewall_FF.jpg


    - Stem
     
  5. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    If I remember correctly, AVG FW blocks all ports except 80. So I am surprised how 6 ports seem to be open ....

    Just to beat my curiosity, can you please disable AVG FW and then do a Shields UP test ?? Just to make sure, these open ports are on your system and not on any router/NAT in between.

    Thanks again ...
     
  6. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Not recommended.

    Asking a user to disable their firewall when it is unknown if an external firewall is in place is not a good idea.

    Simply checking the firewall logs will show if the scans are hitting the firewall.


    - Stem
     
  7. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Sorry,Stem...
    I thought disabling firewall for a few moments will cause no harm.

    But you are right, the logs would be a secure method to evaluate if there is a network device in between without compromise on the user-end.
     
  8. Ghost_ARCHER

    Ghost_ARCHER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    I guess you are running some server programs ....... They are listening to the ports

    Or you might have virtual server or some other port forwarding in your router....

    I once have my port 80 open for years without even host a single game....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.