Only option is Leave

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Bob Coleman, Jun 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bob Coleman

    Bob Coleman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    I'm running the trial version. I have "Prompt for actioin" set everywhere. When running a manual scan, the only selectable action for several supposed threats is "Leave". Why would that be?
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi there, welcome to Wilders.

    Leave is the only option when the infection is in Memory and a reboot is required, or the file is located with Outlook Express and by design removal of the file automatically after it reaches Outlook Express would cause the entire folder to be removed, in such a case manual deletion is required. These are just a couple of examples of why "leave" is the only option available.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Bob Coleman

    Bob Coleman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Actually, one of mine is an exe and one is a zip file.

    I'm not sure I want them deleted, but I don't see why it would be impossible or illogical to do so.
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    The default settings do not allow for such deletions.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. GWA

    GWA Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    Blackspear, I'm not sure that I undersood your response. Could you explain why the default settings of NOD32 would not allow for deletion of an .exe or zip file, or were you saying only certain .exe or zip files could not be deleted? Thanks.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Archives cannot be automatically deleted for safety reasons as they might contain also clean files that you might want to retain.
     
  7. Bob Coleman

    Bob Coleman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Just for the sake of collecting knowledge, are there any non-default settings that do allow for deletions?
     
  8. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    For archives you can set it to delete automatically, but remember to tick "copy to quarantine" if it should contain any important data. That way you'll always have a backup copy if an archive gets deleted.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.