Online armor.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by chaos, May 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chaos

    chaos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Greece
    I have heard recently a lot about this program .
    What is this program about.Is it a HIPS?
    I have kav 6 ,ewido 4,outpost 3.5,spysweeper 4.5.9
    do i need it?
     
  2. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    Yeh is a HIPS system, very easy to use one may i add :D . It has some features your products don't have like execution protection, host files protection and more.

    Give it a go - its free for a trial period.
     
  3. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    OK I gave it a go together with Prevx1 and RegDefend.
    My only trouble was Hostsman, which is a known problem with Online Armor.
    Now the choice was very easy this time : Hostmans had to die.

    So I uninstalled Hostsman, using Total Uninstall, rebooted my computer and the problem was gone and I was back on the horse. :cool:
     
  4. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    ErikAlbert

    Does this mean your testing enviroment is up and running now?.I tried installing Prevx1 along side my F-secure suite and had a complete lockup.Couldn't enter safemode so it took an hour and a half to un-install Prevx1 waiting for windows in explorer to open.
     
  5. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    For anyone trying out different apps together, ProcessTamer is a great thing to have. If there's a conflict that ends up causing 100% CPU (as tobacco describes) it can keep your system from becoming unresponsive. It does so by automatically lowering the priority of anything using excessive CPU, so when you have to open something else to resolve the problem it can still get the CPU time it needs.

    Just something you might want to have if you want to try mixing different apps ;) This has saved me a great deal of headaches while doing beta testing and generally trying out different apps.
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    No, I'm still not ready for testing, because my external backup harddisk and printer is missing. VERY ANNOYING.

    Today, I installed
    - "Sun JRE" for online-banking

    I also installed :
    - "Prevx1"
    - "Online Armor"
    - "RegDefend"
    just to see what these softwares are.
    My computer works a bit slower now after these 3 softwares, response time was 1-2 seconds and now 3-4 seconds, not for all programs and especially the first opening is slower.
    Not a problem for me. It still works fast enough for me. :)
     
  7. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Notok

    Thanks for the link.
     
  8. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Speaking of Online Armor, its newest version is OA-AV+ -- a full-on HIPS that also includes Kaspersky Antivirus plus an Anti-Spam filter. It's just now out of beta, and available for 30-day free trial at TallEmu's home page. I'm running it now. GREAT program! Stable. Amazingly light footprint, especially given the fact it incorporates Kaspersky AV. Excellent support forum.
     
  9. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Bellgamin

    Can one trial OA-AV+ if they've already trialed Online Armor?.
     
  10. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    AFAIK, yes. OA-AV+ is a completely separate program from the old Online Armor. However, the old version of OA is still good. It simply lacks the spam killer & KAV.

    Be aware -- if you already have the older version of Online Armor on your computer, you must uninstall it before trialing/installing OA-AV+.
     
  11. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi ErikAlbert,

    HOSTMAN incompatibility is fixed in the AV+ build and we will be rolling this fix into OA in the next few days.

    Mike
     
  12. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi tobacco,

    Yes, you can. You are more than welcome over at the support forums over at tallemu.com if you have specific questions, although apologies in advance for the mess as the site is being "renovated" right now.

    Mike
     
  13. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Thanks Mike and Bellgamin.
     
  14. chaos

    chaos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Greece
    Ok i'll try it .thanks for the help.
     
  15. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I just loaded the trial version of the new Online Armor & AV and am very impressed so far. Has anyone found a way to access any AV settings or quarantine? A scheduler for scans would also be a nifty feature. All in all though this is a nice setup the Tallemu gang has released..:thumb: :D
     
  16. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    I beta tested AV+. We put loads of suggestions on Mikes list. The ones you mentioned are on the list. Unfortunatly there isn't a way to do any of what you want yet :doubt: .
     
  17. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia

    ..... is right, there is no way to do what you want, but it's on the list. When we put together AV+, the intention was (and still is) to make it as simple to use as possible for the majority of users.

    What we are trying to achieve was something that made you safer (adding in the AV Engine) without overly complicating things. That's why the AntiSpam in AV+ , for example, may not get all of the spam - but you don't need to configure it or train it - nor, for the most part worry about false positives which are things the average "mom" doesn't need to understand or worry about.

    However, we do realise that there are users out there that want some more control over the way things work, and we'll be refining things over the next weeks and months to keep improving the products.

    If you do have more specific questions, you're welcome over at our site where I can go into as much detail as you can stand :)


    Mike
     
  18. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Excellant explanation and pretty much what I was thinking. Keep it simple for all users yet robust with the KAV engine. You probably noted I have already been to the forum too...:eek: :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.