Online Armor Premium at start-up

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by chattycathy, May 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    I use Online Armor Premium version 5.5.0.1557 with Windows XP Pro Service Pack 3. I shut my system down overnight. Each morning when I start it up, Online Armor hangs it up. I have disabled Online Armor at start-up and don't have any problems with it. I start it manually and it works fine. Or, after my system has been on for a while, I can reboot and it loads fine. Why would it make a difference when my system is cold. It's not a big problem but it has me puzzled. Can anyone understand what the difference is?
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,280
    Location:
    England
    What anti-virus do you use?

    Any other security type programs running at start-up?

    Did this behaviour just start suddenly?
     
  3. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    It started a few updates ago. It worked for a while and then there was another update and this started again. It's been an on and off situation. Like some of their updates were fine and others aren't. But it makes no sense because the same programs I listed above are running when I get it started manually. It's weird.
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,280
    Location:
    England
    Do you have avast and malwarebytes excluded in OA exclusions and vice versa?
     
  5. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Yes I have all of them in exclusions in Online Armor but none in Avast and I haven't found a place to put them in Malwarebytes. Why would that make a difference sometimes when it boots cold and not all of the time? Just curious.
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    You may try creating an account on Emsisoft's forum, and sending a bug report -http://support.emsisoft.com/
     
  7. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    526
    I have had better luck with Online Armor 5.5.0.1594 beta. You may need to sign up as a beta tester to get it, but I have found it worth while.
     
  8. ctrlaltdelete

    ctrlaltdelete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    318
    Location:
    NL
    Online Armor 5.5.0.1594 is released as Beta update a few days ago. No need to sign up as Beta tester to receive this Beta. Beta updates can be enabled in Options > General.
     
  9. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Thanks everyone for your suggestions! This morning, it booted as it should on the first try and it was COLD!!!! Now, tomorrow, it probably won't boot on the first try. That's just it. It is so unpredictable without a reasono_O? But, if it doesn't boot the next cold boot, I will try your suggestions. Thanks again!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.