Online Armor....is this a joke?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by JimmyD, Nov 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    So, I removed Comodo firewall so I could install the trial version of Online Armor. I downloaded it, installed it, and now it's asking for a key for the trial version! A key that was never provided anywhere!

    Is this someone's idea of a joke? I see others are having the same problem in the Online Armor forums. So, in the meantime, I sit here without a firewall.

    Looks like I have to uninstall Online Armor and find something else. Not going anywhere near the clusterf*ck that Comodo 3.x has turned out to be.

    If the folks at Online Armor can't even get a trial version set up correctly, I have serious doubt about it's effectiveness. :thumbd:
     
  2. SpookyET

    SpookyET Guest

    A little bitchy, are not we?
    You still have the Windows Firewall. That said, Online Armour can be heavy on resources. I played with it on XP a few weeks ago, and the interface it's abnormally ugly, but it's effective. They should hire a graphic designer, however.

    As for Comodo, I've been running it since day one, and no problems whatsoever. But, I installed it on a clean system with no other security software ever installed, and it behaves. I like it.
     
  3. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    We? Do you have a mouse in your pocket? :D

    Thanks for the info about OA's heavy resources. Off it comes!!

    I've been using Comodo 2.x for quite awhile with no trouble. This morning it said a new version was available, I wisely chose not to install it, it was version 3. Some others weren't so lucky and basically screwed themselves by attempting the install, so I figured I'd look for something else.
     
  4. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    So what's wrong with CFP V2.4 while we wait for v3 to iron out its bugs. I can't send mail with v3 and I'm waiting for a solution. Thanks for the heads up with On line Armor.
     
  5. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Very much removed from a ''joke'' and is very effective.

    Support is second to none and I suggest you register at the forum to benefit from that high class support.

    More knowledgable and experienced members here have an active interest and support of OA.

    Your post IMHO is not indicative of the community spirit here at Wilders.

    I repeat this is a great program either free or paid and a little patience on your part will reap rewards

    @twl845

    I suggest you test before relying on one posters perhaps jaundiced viewpoint
     
  6. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Probably nothing. With version 3 out, I didn't think 2.4 would've been supported any longer and who knows how long before version 3 is acceptable. I should've just left well enough alone.

    I ended up renewing my subscription for Sunbelt Firewall, which I had used one time in the past. In fact, Sunbelt is running a special right now, you can get it for only $9.95. I'll use that for awhile.
     
  7. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    The joke I was referring to is the fact that they offer a trial download which is completely unusable without a key, which isn't provided unless you email them or post in their forum and wait for who knows how long.

    It's not like this is a surprise to them. Several people have already posted in their forums about this issue. Instead of fixing it, they simply "PM" them a key when they request it. Pretty ridiculous way to attract customers.

    It may very well be an excellent firewall but it's a little difficult to tell if you can't run it. o_O
     
  8. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada
    When I tried it, the next day I had the key by Email. Which is not so long I
    think.:)
     
  9. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Hi Jimmy

    Join the forum and Mike Nash will sort your issue of that I'm sure. Get over this glitch and I'm sure you will enjoy OA

    No hard feelings but give it a chance ;)
     
  10. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Already PM'd him. Yeah, I am a little bitchy today, my apologies.
     
  11. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    That's good to hear but the trial version should not require a key, or at the very least, they should let you know that you need a key before you download it and attempt an install.
     
  12. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    We all have those days :D

    Good move with the PM and hope you get sorted.
     
  13. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
  14. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Thanks, looks like you've spent a lot of effort with this! :thumb:
     
  15. SpookyET

    SpookyET Guest

    I totally agree with you, but it does not change what I have said. It needs to trim the fat a bit, and the interface totally blows. They MUST hire a UI designer. The interface is ugly as hell, and the right click in systray has a billion entries. Personally, i preffer applications that blend with the system, no skin. But, the NOD32 v3 GUI is awesome, except the advanced settings.
     
  16. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    There is a but in some versions of the installer for OA free that asks for a key. That happened to me the first time I tried it. A subsequent download did not ask for a key.

    I don't know what Comodo intends for 2.4, but today there was an update to the safe applications list, probably derived from 3.0.
     
  17. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Already got the key from Mike. He's a good guy. I feel bad about venting my frustrations and would edit my previous comments, but since I've been quoted it doesn't matter at this point. :D
     
  18. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi Everyone

    I have posted a few replies on this - but I suppose one more won't hurt.

    First of all, the Trial versions of Online Armor do contain activation keys ( a trial key).

    SOMETIMES - and we're not quite sure why yet - OA cannot activate the trial version. Most installs seem to do so no problem, but we do get a couple of people PM or post with issues. Rather than say "wait for the next build" I PM anyone who is affected a key.

    I check the forums at Tall Emu when I wake up, throughout the day - and last thing before I go to sleep. The most anyone who is affected by this problem should ever have to wait for a key is 8h or so (assuming an 8h night of sleep).

    Most users it should just work fine for.

    Anyhow, I'm sorry if people are having problems with activating the trial version and I hope you will have received the key that I sent you (if you posted at our forums, you should already have received it).


    Mike
     
  19. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Last thing I check is definately NOT email.
    Perhaps a good therapist could help.
    Enjoy.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 26, 2007
  20. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Last thing I check is definately NOT email.
    Perhaps a good therapist could help.
    Enjoy.[/QUOTE]

    The joys of running a small business ;)
     
  21. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    I have to disagree with you there. Nothing wrong with the interface in my opinion. Very user friendly. I'm currently using only the standard mode, which is good enough for me at this time. If I feel like playing around, I'll check out the advanced mode at a later date.

    Funny, I happen to like that feature. Lots of choices available with a simple right click. Makes things easier. One thing is for certain, its probably impossible for a software developer to please EVERYONE. I do like what I see so far.

    One thing I'm curious about, I installed the version without the anti-virus but at the bottom of the main screen, it says I "should periodically scan for dangerous programs" which I did. What type of scan is this? If the A/V module isn't installed, what is doing the scanning?
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2007
  22. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    OA has a small blacklist of bad programs that it uses. Mike could provide more details.
     
  23. ultragunnerdcl

    ultragunnerdcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    Philippines
    Online Armor is very good but heavy on system resources. I used to use it. but now I uninstalled it & switch to comodo firewall version3:cool:
     
  24. SamSpade

    SamSpade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    I have been using OA in a number of iterations and latest builds for about two weeks now, and its RAM usage is about 12 to 15 mb; CPU spikes a bit on execution of new processes, as with all HIPS firewalls, but then shoots right down again very quickly.

    Once trained -- and if you use the "learning mode" and "install mode" functions properly -- it is *very* quiet. Unobtrusive, lean, definitely NOT a resource hog by any stretch, in my usage (IBM T60p laptop, 2 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, NOD32, Ffox w/ security add-ons, Tbird, Google desktop). In fact, OA is using about the same in resources as Jetico 1 was, plus OA has a much better HIPS function. Looks like a keeper.


    //
     
  25. SamSpade

    SamSpade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    415

    Oh, WSFuser already posted about this; yes, OA has a black-list that it checks your installed programs against. It will warn you if you have something not so nice installed. Nice feature. Totally optional.


    |||
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.