Online Armor Free

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by MikeNash, Oct 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Site is down but forum is up.
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,633
    You can ask Mike if he'll let you try the beta build; it might fix your issue with uTorrent.

    Or you can just wait for the next version to come out.

    Edit: Mike put the latest beta build 48 in the public forum. Look here.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2007
  3. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    They are upgrading servers. Activation doesn't work right now either. Just be patient.
     
  5. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    The site is back up.:)
     
  6. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I downloaded the beta version 2.0.50 yesterday but when I rebooted to do the wizard I got an error message "Can not start online armor service" . I also have a question on how one can have enough knowledge of the files to have some assurance they are not allowing access to the internet from a hostile program?
     
  7. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    Thats why its beta. Use version .31. If your installing this for the first time or any firewall you should know before hand if your pc is clean or infected.
     
  8. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Yup, this is known bug of 50. They say 50 is replaced already to fix it. From the other side you can start 50 manually (OAui.exe). This is just one-time issue for the first boot. Other than that 50 is great. The best build since 31, and seems like RC.
     
  9. soccerfan

    soccerfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Posts:
    198
    Is the "intercept loopback" option available in OA free yet.
    A month or so back, Mike had indicated that it would included.

    soccerfan
     
  10. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    from OA forum:

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 21, 2007
  11. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
    The complete post:

     
  12. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    When it comes up to allow or disallow a program from running you also have a choice to run safe. What are you allowing and what happens if one chooses run safe?
     
  13. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    It is like you logon with limited user account, but only for the choosen program, which runs with reduced rights then.
    A helpfully thread is here: Run Safer http://support.online-armor.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=19452

    Cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.