Online Armor Free

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by MikeNash, Oct 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    I'm using OA (paid) and have wondered about using the AV + version.
    Since OA uses KAV 5 how is it with detecting viruses as compared to KAV 7?
    Also does OA plan on upgrading their AV engine to a later edition, 6 or 7 possibly?
     
  2. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    We are using the latest OEM engine. The versions of the OEM engine are different to the Kaspersky product versions.
     
  3. feniks

    feniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    130

    Will be then the outbound, leak protection the same? If not what will be the difference?

    Of course I know that I can not make rules, restrict ports etc. but I am talking about leaking (will be same good in leaktest like matousec) and preventing from spyware, malware trying to leak some info out?
     
  4. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Did someone whistle for me ?

    Build 31 of OA Full just went on the servers :)
     
  5. Alf_

    Alf_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Does that include the AV+ trial version?
     
  6. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It's on the update servers for now... installers loaded soon
     
  7. Yoda1953

    Yoda1953 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    Netherlands
  8. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi Yoda- this will be fixed in next build, we managed to reproduce it.
     
  9. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Tried the latest version today, 2.1.0.30, and still having problems.
    After install, when it asks to reboot, it stops on the windows shutting down screen and stays there.
    Shut it down manually and rebooted into a different snapshot.
    Didn't want to take it any further.
    Maybe the next version. :(
    Dan
     
  10. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Sorry Dan,

    We just replaced OA Free with Build 31. Should sort it for you, and sorry for the inconvenience.


    Mike
     
  11. jtcst

    jtcst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Just installed the latest version. I no longer get BSODs/restarts when I attempt to run Gmail Notifier. Thanks :thumb:
     
  12. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Mike, sorries are not allowed.
    Every system is different and mines just being stubborn. LOL :D

    You're doing a great job trying to sort out these little problems we have!
     
  13. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia

    :D For one second, when I read Sorries are not allowed I thought the conversation was going to go in a whole different direction!
     
  14. SamSpade

    SamSpade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    415

    If this is OA Free 31 where can we find it?? At the OA site?

    Thanks.


    |||
     
  15. Alf_

    Alf_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  16. the insider

    the insider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    It seems to me that the "hang" problem is gone .... almost. It needed some more time to start up but it eventually did start and that's the main issue :D

    Although I have one small problem : from time to time there is a balloon which pops up to tell me that a port is being used : can it be switched off o_O
     
  17. SamSpade

    SamSpade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    415
  18. Alf_

    Alf_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Release 2.1.0.31 16 November 2007

    Fixed - Slow Shutdown after Safety Check Wizard on install.
    Fixed - Slow boot Problem - Fixed problem some users had with slow initial boots after installing Online Armor Free.
    Improved - Drivers start detection
    Fixed - IE extensions show filename properly (including referenced by CLSID)
    Fixed - Grid deleting lines changed current scroll position
    Fixed - Trusted programs can be properly blocked at the firewall.
    Fixed - random BSOD 0x7F (double fault subfunction)
    Fixed - conflict with Artificial Dynamics "SafeSpace"
    Fixed - Popups not rendering correctly sometimes on Windows 2003 Server
    Some updates to help file (more to come)
    Internal Stability improvements.
    Conflict Fixed - Now works with anonymiser
    Fixed - No Disk problem when install from CD/DVD
    Added - Install Mode option on Program guard popup
    Added - "Block all traffic" option

    (See: http://support.online-armor.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1476)
     
  19. SamSpade

    SamSpade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    Many thanks, Alf. :)


    SamSpade


    |||
     
  20. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    I'm sure most of you knowledgeable folk know anyway, but for XP, at least, there is a nifty Microsoft utility, UPHclean, which really does sort out a lot of slow shutdown problems.
     
  21. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Thanks for that, should sort the issues I've been having.
     
  22. the insider

    the insider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    Mike,
    sorry but I have to get back on the "hanging" issue .... it's not over yet !! My bootup time is still slow ; it has improved since the last version but not significantly
    I think some homework has to be done by the testing team :doubt:

    Anyone else because this problem is very persistent IMO :'(
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Actually a large amount of homework has been done by the testing team, and the issue we saw is solved. Some questions.

    1) What OA version.
    2) How many reboots have you done.
    3) Describe in detail extactly what you mean by "hanging"
    4) if you are the only one seeing, it go to the OA forum, and PM Mike. If you are interested in helping he can give you a logging version, that will enable them to track down what is happening.

    Pete
     
  24. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi Insider,

    Did you install build 31, or build 30? 31 (should be) the charm.. but if you are still having problems, then "What Peter2150 said"...
     
  25. feniks

    feniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    130
    Mike I can see that when the thread is going on I have little chance to get answer. I am new on forum so maybe I should start new thread to get answer?

    PS. I just install version .31 of OA free and no problems with installation. Smooth and nice.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.